The Secret to Life


GodReflection: God Shares His Secret

He [Christ] was chosen before the creation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for your sake (1 Peter 1:20).

garyguarujaI could not have asked for better growing up years. Sure, there were bumps along the way but I was a dreamer.

It was almost like from day one I knew the basic direction I was to point and follow the compass.

Obviously, there are countless areas where a young dreamer is clueless.

life1So here I stand as the sunsets. I gaze into my rearview mirror and without a doubt I would place at the top of my “dreamer clueless list” as all-time number one: life is hard.

My life’s trail memories are far too crisp of death, hurts, pain, loss, difficult relationships and betrayals.

Like everyone of God’s created children my trials list could continue.

It seems with each measurable distance along life’s walk the trail rises while the rocks increase their sharp edges and become more numerous.

I want to remember the grand secret while I walk.

life14It is not that the rocks will become smooth and the trail will morph onto flat calm meadows.

The secret planned before the beginning of time is that Jesus would come to show me how to live as I walk.

The secret is Christ not only brought life—but immortality. The Apostle Paul tells me:

This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel (2 Timothy 1:9-10).

Ok, I’ll admit that is rather lofty language for a guy born in the New Mexico desert who tries to make sense of a life of sharp rocks and steep trails.

Here is my best shot.

life11When God freed His people from Egypt He did not choose to guide them through a fast and direct route to the promised destination.

The people were not yet ready to love Him nor were they yet prepared to live in their new home.

The desert rocks, trails and trials were forty years of preparation.

From creation to the Christ were thousands of years of hardships as God formed person after person until the time came to reveal the secret of life found in Jesus.

The gospel is Jesus.

baptism3When I look into God’s revealed Scripture I find over and again Jesus came to give life. He is the secret to life. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind (John 1:4).

This is the secret to life. He is the one who walks with me, shines light on my rocky road, shows me how to live and makes me ready for life eternal with the Holy.

And then one day—This plan, which God will complete when the time is right, is to bring all creation together, everything in heaven and on earth, with Christ as head.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on The Secret to Life 

Gary@GodReflection.org  www.GodReflection.org  www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, God Shared His Secret, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

One thought on “The Secret to Life

Leave a Reply

