Does God Have Blue Eyes?


GodReflection: News Flash—We Inherited God’s DNA

“Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9).

garyguarujaIn my first post in this series I observed that this body of posts lead into deeper waters than where my mind usually swims. The more I think on traits of God’s own identity the more I feel I was right on.

I find it a struggle to align my mind and my vocabulary around specific attributes we humans inherit from God.

jesus1It doesn’t seem to be as easy as connecting bright blue eyes from a child to the two blue eyed parents.

The thought occurs to me when it comes to seeking the identity of God’s DNA maybe I can envision Jesus as my microscope.

After all Jesus often taught, “Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9). When I look through Jesus I can more clearly see God.

jesus2Through Jesus I become aware of the God DNA within my eyes and heart. Without Jesus, my physical sight see the world but cannot see what God see.

By submission to Jesus my dormant genes come to life and my world begins to take on a new clarity. I can no longer divide those I see around me with the categories of us and them.

jesus5Instead, I become one with the human race. We are all undeserving. We are all weak and imperfect. Our feet share a common clay.

On the positive side, we are all diverse. We are formed from a variety of cultures and possess diverse talents.

Contrary to group blindness my birth in North America does not make me better that those born in other nations.

It is through my God inherited eyes that I begin to see others with my heart rather than my prejudice. And—it is only when my heart is tied into the DNA of the Father that it functions to its capacity.

jesus14So here I stand.

Challenged by God’s Holy Spirit to see through the fog of the entertainment gods, the political gods, the war gods and the self-help gods, to see the world as God sees it.

I think God wants me to see the world as His earth inhabited by the saved and the unsaved.

The saved live in humility ever conscious of unmerited grace as God greatest gift. The saved see the unsaved through jesus3eyes of love and hearts of compassion.

Perhaps my Jesus microscope should always stand next to my Bible to help me see the power God’s DNA can have in my own life and the power it can have on others as it is channeled through my walk.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Does God Have Blue Eyes?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org  www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

