God Made Me with a Homing Instinct


GodReflection: News Flash—We Inherited God’s DNA

For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands (2 Corinthians 5:1).

garyguarujaIt’s rather awesome to entertain the thought that Creator God shared His DNA with me.

I never cease to be amazed at the intricate and diverse design of God’s creation.

home1Certainly, the rock pigeon is a clear example. We common folks know this bird by its more familiar identity as a Homing Pigeon. It’s spotlight moment was as a secure message carrier during World War II.

Homing Pigeons possess a God-wired instinct that always draws them home.

This past holiday season I had a distant memory seep into my head.

I was in a grocery store picking up a few things from a weekly shopping list when I noticed the stacked coconuts in the produce department. Immediately, my mind turned to my childhood home.

home2At every Christmas celebration, my dad and my mom made sure there was a coconut and a box of chocolate covered cherries under our fresh cut and popcorn strung Christmas tree.

I have no idea when or where the tradition started. I don’t even know if they considered it a tradition or if it home5was just something they did like unpacking the family box of tree lights and decorative bulbs. However, the thought of coconuts and chocolate cherries drew me home.

In my working life, I spent far too much time on the road. It didn’t take long away for the draw of home to kick into gear. Each time I returned home I couldn’t help but exclaim, “It is good to be home.”

home7I’ve lived in numerous houses—rented and purchased. Each one was home because my family was there and together we decorated and lived on familiar worn furniture that enhanced home.

It occurs to me that once Adam and Eve were removed from their garden home the remainder of Scripture is a story of home and the homeless.  Constantly, God used home as a picture of life lived in relationship with Him.

The Israelites were to live in a land promised by Him where He would be their God and they would be His people.

When disobedient Israel refused to live with God, He promised a time when He would draw all humanity toward an eternal home. The call would be empowered by a new heart indwelt by the spirit of God.

home17Unfortunately, even with all of God’s love for His creation, many would override the new heart with a heart of stone and follow their preference to seek a home among the Godless.

To each of us Jesus invitation still stands, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.”

I like the idea of being home.

Here is what I think.

Upon my acceptance of the cross event with its implication, Jesus moved in to setup house in my heart. Only then did I began to get a faint hint of the reality of My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.” 

home15As the hint of home grows more and more into reality I’ve come to experience God’s draw with a sense of great anticipation.

Here on earth houses and homes come and go. Under the best of conditions there is deterioration. There is a sense that this decay causes me to live as a homeless resident of planet earth.

I find there to be an instinct planted in my DNA that moves me toward readiness to give up the streets of earth so that I can be at home with the Lord.

Like the Rock Pigeon I continue to follow my homing reflex confident my flight will arrive at my Father’s house and I will exclaim, “It is good to be home.”

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on God Made Me with a Homing Instinct

Gary@Godreflection.org   www.GodReflection.org   www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

