Eternity In My Genes?


GodReflection: News Flash—We Inherited God’s DNA

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end Ecclesiastes 3:11).

garyguarujaIt’s rather awesome to entertain the thought that God shared His DNA with me.

I assume that most every person who has set foot on planet earth has wondered at some point about what happens after death. Every major religion and all primitive tribes paint pictures of the afterlife for their eternity9adherents.

I was born with eternity in my genes. It came direct from God’s DNA.

Should I be surprised?

After all the God who made me is the One who lives from eternity to eternity. Talk about a sentence that far exceeds human understanding.

Why should I be astonished that the Holy Eternal Being who loves me beyond my comprehension and desires that I live in His presence forever, placed a spark in my soul that draws me in His direction?

The thoughts come to me, what are the implications for me as a possessor of God’s eternity gene? How do I relate to eternity in my here and now?

eternity12First, I want to know with certainty that I’ve identified the creator who implanted His Divine spark.

Through reasons that would go beyond the word limitation of this blog I write the sentence that follows as a summation of my belief that my eternity DNA comes from Creator God:

I’ve tested over a lifetime God’s Holy Scripture and believe the Bible to be inspired and true.  

Therefore, I have no reason to doubt the wise man of Ecclesiastes who wrote: He has also set eternity in the human heart.”

eternity3If in fact it is God who placed eternity in my heart I want to respond with proper care.

At this point in life I’ve heard an incalculable amount of noise and teaching. The noise has a tendency to crowd out brain space I want to reserve for more valuable information.

Since all instruction is filtered through human teachers; I’ve been taught—and believed truth and misconceptions wrongly perceived as truth. Yes, I too have learned and taught noise I one time thought to be true.

eternity13So, here I sit full of noise, truth and error.

Once again how should I respond to Eternal God in my present with confidence that my response will allow me to live with Him forever?

What I think I have learned is that heart soil is where God’s eternity gene grows best.

I have begun to see that a life of “do and don’t do religion” makes the gift of eternity a hit or miss proposition. That is religion rather than gospel good news.

eternity10However, if I live from a grateful heart, full of thankfulness for the heart of a God who loved me so much that He would orchestrate the death of His Son to die in my place there is no room for “do and don’t religion.”

Motivated by God’s love the eternity gene moves me to desire a forever relationship with the Holy rather than a life lived from the motivation to miss an eternal place called hell.

eternity14This week I’ve came across a letter written by J.R.R. Tolkien to his son in 1945. It seems relevant to this post:

“Certainly, there was an Eden on this very unhappy earth. We all long for it, and we are constantly glimpsing it: our whole nature at its best and least corrupted, its gentlest and most humane, is still soaked with the sense of exile.”

Aware of the draw from God’s eternity gene to His restored Eden, Satan wants to trick me into playing the wrong game of does and don’ts rather than learning to live from a heart that identifies with the values of God’s heart.

I suspect the more that my own heart aligns with God’s heart the greater will become the aroma of eternity as a magnetic force of the eternity gene pulls me toward the Holy eternal presence.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Eternity In My Genes?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

