I Share God’s DNA


GodReflection: News Flash—We Inherited God’s DNA

garyguarujaThere is no doubt about it. I’m made in the image of my dad.

Our family often went to visit when he and my mom were still living. Occasionally, a new acquaintance might ask which one of us was the older brother.  I smile at the fun my own children enjoyed at my expense when I would tell of those occurrences.

Yep, I share my dad’s DNA.

It’s rather awesome to entertain the thought that God shared His image with me.dna1

The pronouncement was planned from before time when the Holy conceived of the creation of man and woman.

Then the confirmation flowed from the heart of Father, Son and Spirit:

“Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”

So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them Genesis 1:26-27).

dna8Thus, my obvious question arises: “What can I identify as Holy DNA passed down to me”?

A second question I want to explore is: “By my actions—or lack thereof—do I allow God’s genes in me to become recessive”? That is, by my own will do I let God’s genes lay dormant so that they fail to influence the way I live?

A Case at point:

dna11Not every son or daughter of a professional sports athlete or every son and daughter birthed from mathematical and scientific brain power choose to follow the discipline and training that might allow them to excel from their birth genes.

For those of us who made commitments to: The Son [who] is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation (Colossians 1:15) and who desire to be transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit (2 Corinthians 3:18), we find great satisfaction when others see God’s DNA in our walk.

I wouldn’t mind if occasionally a new acquaintance might ask me if per chance I am a child of Father God.

Preliminarily, I think of love, eternity, spirit, free will, worship and the draw to home as genes formed from God’s DNA. Surely, there are others.

I realize this conversation leads into deeper waters than where my mind usually swims. I invite you to reflect on other Holy genes you might add to our discussion.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on God’s Image and My DNA

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, God's DNA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

