By Faith We Wait


GodReflection: Faith Certainties

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. Hebrews 11:1

These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised, since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect (Hebrews 11:39-40).

garyguarujaFor a significant portion of my life I’ve resided in multimillion populated cities.

Mysteriously, every time I get behind the steering wheel of a car a hidden wait3computer chip programmed to cause all traffic signals to turn red enters my body. What could be more fun than to wait?

Likewise, in the big city to be first in line at a box store, grocery store, physician’s office or a pharmacy is prohibited from me. Everyone is sure I love to wait.

Isn’t it interesting—and baffling—how wait is used by God to accomplished His purpose and within that purpose provides me a lifelong diet of waiting as a growth mechanism to transform me into His likeness?

I doubt that I fully understand what the Hebrew author meant when he penned: These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised, since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.   

wait7Could it be that because of the cross our joint perfection comes after our joint “waits?”

Here is what I think.

The waiting time of the faithful from all of history will be rewarded jointly with those who currently await the return of Jesus.

Together, we will experience a newly created earth and in the presence of the Holy the fruit of the Spirit will dwell across the pristine land. Love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control will so dominate the new reality that not even a hint of evil can exist.

For the first time, both we and the ancients will know and experience the perfection promised to those who lived by the Spirit. The new gravity will be the natural pull to walk in step with the Spirit.

wait5The big question now stares me down:

How does faith color my walk while I wait for the transformation of God’s promises?

It is these promises that will become the total perfection I will experience during my eternal reality?

The best I can understand God wants me to wait with a holy spark for that time. To wait by faith isn’t a passive action.

During my faith wait I am to grow more like Jesus in thought and action. I am to serve as an ember in a dark world to ignite the light of Jesus for others.

My faith wait is a time of growth. To live by the Spirit is an acquired skill. It is to learn to listen and imitate Jesus of the Gospels. I don’t become pure in heart with a one-time perusal of Jesus’ mountain sermon. Just to read it doesn’t make it so in my life. Purity in heart comes over time during my wait by faith.

wait9As I wait by faith—powered by the Spirit—I grow in my ability to apply Jesus’ lesson that I am to love the Lord my God with all of my heart soul and mind and I am to love my neighbor as much as I love myself.

To “desire” doesn’t make to “do” an immediate result. It takes a determined faith wait to witness progress.

Might it be possible that by the faith wait I find that I grow through the Spirit to the extent that I begin to experience in this life limited love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control?

I begin to comprehend what God has actually done in my life is to allow me to experience a taste of eternal perfection.

And then I see it.walk6

By faith the wait starts to make sense.

It is God’s way of wetting my appetite for the next reality when I will be home in the Holy presence for eternity.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on By Faith We Wait

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

