By Faith We Bless and Worship


GodReflection: Faith Certainties

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1). By faith Jacob, when he was dying, blessed each of Joseph’s sons, and worshiped as he leaned on the top of his staff (Hebrews 11:21).

garyguarujaThis is a year when I’ve thought a lot about the older folks who “leaned on the top of their staff” as God received their worship and I their blessing.

Were they still on their earth walk the four people who most spoke into my formative years would respectively be celebrating their 97th, 99th, 126th, and 141st birthdays.

staff0They all lived by faith.

What a little word to describe the world’s richest treasure.

Faith incorporates both worship and blessing. For out of the fountain of faith God is worshipped and others are blessed.

Yes, faith is a small word.

Perhaps there is no other word in the English Language that carries such significance. Within faith is the story of God. Inside faith boundaries live Father, Son and Spirit. Within faith is the birth, life, death, resurrection and ascension of the Christ. 

certain2Faith includes creation, restoration, the new and eternal heaven and earth. The truth of God’s forgiveness and saving grace fit squarely within the faith.

The totality of Jesus’ instruction and the fruit of the Spirit are all encompassed within faith. Jesus return to judge the world and to care eternally for His brothers and sisters who have placed their walk under the Lordship of the Holy will come about within the faith.

It is almost too good to be true to imagine that through Jesus I can hold faith in common with Jacob. It is a rich image to envision Jacob as he blessed each of Joseph’s sons, and worshiped as he leaned on the top of his staff.

staff2

In stark contrast, rather than blessing others, I find very little in current 21st century North American society that is not stained heavily with influences from the “me generation” promoted and marketed through cultural noise.

 

The thought for the good of others and care of “one another” is rather difficult to find outside of God’s reign.

Perhaps selfish Jacob of youth who grows into the Jacob who blesses is a story I need to examine anew. staff3Jacob’s leaning on his staff to bless and worship powered by faith should grab my attention and emulation. 

It was because of his confidence and assurance fed by faith that Jacob had a blessing to give.

It was because of his confidence and assurance fed by faith that Jacob could only respond to God by worship.

Jacob trusted God to carry out the blessing he bequeathed upon his two grandsons.

staff4So here I am on the last stretch of my life’s trail.

Through the years I trust that my faith has morphed with confidence and assurance to the point where leaning on my staff as I worship Creator God is more of a 24/7 lifestyle than a “Sundays Only” appointment.

The story reminds me how much I need to consciously and actively ask the question of who am I allowing God to bless through me as I lean on the top of my cane? 

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells 

A GodReflection on By Faith We Bless and Worship

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

One thought on “By Faith We Bless and Worship

  1. Gary, thanks for helping us comprehend the God presence. May we all grow closer to Him and be more filled with His presence as we too walk toward the end of our days here, and may we be a blessing to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

