By Faith We Please God


GodReflection: Faith Certainties

And without faith it is impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6).

garyguarujaHe is God and even among the voices that shout around Him, there is not one that will take away His supremacy as King of all kings and Ruler of all rulers.

So this post is not a campaign on His behalf. God doesn’t need my vote.

It is rather a rehearsal, a review, or a personal reflection on what I understand pleasing faith to mean for my walk through life. I am sure that my definition of faith has grown over seven decades of life.

It is a rather drastic declaration made by the Hebrew writer to state, without faith it is impossible to please God,” as he begins his chapter eleven list of eighteen people known to history. It is even more sobering to read that he also includes a summery description of pleasing faith demonstrate by the unknown others of whom “the world was not worthy” (Hebrews 11: 38).

In admiration I read the description of the not worthy:

. . . quenched the fury of the flames, and escaped the edge of the sword; tortured . . . faced jeers and flogging, and even chains and imprisonment. They were put to death by stoning; they were sawed in two; they were killed by the sword. They went about . . . destitute, persecuted and mistreated—living in caves and in holes in the ground.

Thankfully—and hopefully—I don’t have to duplicate their practically unfathomable experiences to possess faith that pleases God.

However, for me my attempt to express pleasing faith is as follows:

confident-aBack to where I started these few posts on Faith Certainties. I began with the assertion from Hebrews 11:1 that with the very nature of faith comes confidence and assurance of God, Son, and Spirit.

At some point my faith became rooted in confidence and assurance of the unseen. As I think back that probably started in seed form at a very early age in my faith walk.

From the start I felt certain God was real even though His form was unseen. For me that was the easy part.

Much more difficult was to grow my confidence and assurance that I could trust Him no matter what I encountered. I probably believed in His “go and do commands” more than in His presence and care.

Yet, as He has tested me and I have tested Him for seventy years I now stand convicted of both aspects. God is a constant presence and watches after me throughout my earthly walk.

pleasing-faith1I find it difficult to write an all-inclusive description of faith. I do know that it can only come from a heart that grows in rhythm with His.

Pleasing faith takes on adjective, noun, and verb form. It is descriptive of a life-walk. In its noun form it is a solid visual commodity. In its verb form it is action.

It is a conviction that God is real. He is who He claims to be. He loves me because He said He loves me. Pleasing faith is the eye-opening conclusion that God gave and gives me daily the gift of His grace.

There is no reciprocity involved. God does not lack anything. He desires my love and allegiance because it benefits me as he desires my ultimate good.

From a deep sense of gratitude, I can only react in thankfulness and do all within the way God wired me to share His nature with those who cross my path.

I suspect God smiles and is pleased when my faith smiles in kindness toward others and they smile from being treated in a small manner as God treats me.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on By Faith We Please God

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

