Life Within Holy Margins


GodReflection: Life in the Holy Presence

garyguarujaI am not sure of the direction this post will take as I begin.

Here is my dilemma.

On the one hand I’ve put in sufficient years to know for certain that life requires predetermined carefully thought through margins.

On the other hand, I know that the Jesus walk isn’t compartmentalized. I can’t put margins in place to do some “Jesus things” that are segregated from my “real life.”

So I guess my question brings me back to where I started. What is, “life within Holy margins”?

MarginsaGod didn’t place me on this beautiful earth with the intent that I avoid His creation and all of the wonder it has to offer. He surely wants me to enjoy the gifts and abilities of my human siblings.

The sports, the arts, knowledge acquisition, and the diverse personalities of friends and acquaintances are all gifts from God.

To take in oceans, mountains or grand urban architecture can provide Holy experiences.

To live life in the Holy Presence is a sunrise to sunrise proposition. The Holy Margin is an around the clock presence that saturates the walk of one who follows the Master.

However, within the Holy Margin important life limits (margins) play a role. I am instantly drawn to what the apostle Paul writes to the Ephesian church.

Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity. . . (Ephesians 5:1-2 and 15-16.)

So, while I enjoy my walk on God’s earth I want to be conscious of the Holy Presence. The more I am conscious of His presence and this life within Holy Margins the more His priories will cause me to set the structural daily margins of my walk.

margins3This is a rare year when my sports team is near the top of its game.

What fun to watch or to listen. I never know what incredible play or disappointment will happen in the next few seconds. I am in full enjoyment mode as I stand in awe at the skill level of God created athletes.

I suspect God smiles to see His creatures receive pleasure from His creation. Here is where structural daily limits come into my walk. I dare not spend 24/7 focused only on the current run of my sports team.

To live within the Holy Margin causes me to grow in my focus upon the Holy.

The way I treat my wife reflects how much I let the Holy Margin engulf me. The way I treat the marginsbemployees at my local grocery market reflects whether or not God reigns on the throne of my life.

My growth in heart-to-heart time with the Holy requires purposeful determination of daily margin.

Is it too simplistic to say life in the all- encompassing Holy Margin is to walk in the way of love (Ephesians 5:1) as I go about the daily encounters of life and secondly, to learn to make wise choices that move my heart more in the direction of the Holy?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Life Within Holy Margins

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

