Life in Holy Scripture AND The Holy Truth


GodReflection: Life in the Holy Presence

garyguarujaFor those who attempt to walk in submission to Jesus we older types find after the half century mark some of God’s riches blessings.

It’s not that the first half of life failed to please the Holy. Nor is it that we failed to make progress in our walk. Rather, I suspect the second half incorporates all past growth and life experience into a greater appreciation and understanding of the richness of the God-walk.

Truth9The second semester of life comes with an abundance of Holy aha moments that previously we missed.

I think of two examples.

I own numerous copies of the Holy Scripture.

Jokingly, I was probably given a little Bible instead of a baby rattle toy in my first crib. I have accumulated multiple copies through the years of both printed and digital versions.

Truth1One is my Grandma’s Bible with a date of August 1, 1938. Another is inscribed by my parents as a gift on September 14, 1956.

In early years I acquired facts and learned to rehearse memory verses. Each week I heard the Bible preached and attend Bible classes. In college I became more serious about the opportunity to learn its content and themes.

To the best of my memory, after college I spent thirty years as a teacher, missionary, and preacher without every methodically starting in Genesis and reading through the Book of The Revelation. I read “pick and choose” to meet the assignments at hand.

At the age of fifty-three that changed.

With the onset of chronic pain probably for reasons that are not even clear to me I stated to read through Scripture each year.

As I look back I stand amazed at how many things Scripture does not address that previously I had thought of as doctrine. In addition, I’ve found a richness in Scripture and themes in the text that I had not encounter before.

Truth10One great aha moment was to find Jesus defined as truth and to find truth defined as Jesus.

From an early age mistakenly, I had understood truth to be a set of doctrines and propositions.

In the Gospel of John, I read Jesus claim: “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

When I scan through my New Testament I find at least ninety times where the word Jesus could easily substitute for the word truth. Only in an additional thirteen times does the word truth seem to be limited to the use of right and wrong.

I have a difficult time finding truth used in Scripture in the way I once thought of it as a set of doctrines and propositions.

So here is where I am.

To live in Holy Scripture and to live in the Holy Truth are not the same. To live in Holy Scripture is where I learn ABOUT Holy God, Holy Jesus and Holy Spirit.

truth5To live in Holy Truth is to live in Holy Jesus. It is to allow Holy Jesus to live in me through His Holy Spirit. In Jesus I learn how I should walk Sunday through Saturday.

In that act I don’t get everything right. Nor, do I live life without mistakes. However, as I remain in Holy Scripture and remain in Holy Truth, God see me as holy.

That’s my game plan. Let’s play on the same team.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Life in Holy Scripture AND in Holy Truth.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

One thought on “Life in Holy Scripture AND The Holy Truth

  1. I remember the challenges we had to “read through the Bible” and I did it 3 times and each time it took me about 3 months to complete. I, too, took to reading the Bible daily a few years ago. I first took a Thru the Bible in a year that I picked up for 50 cents at a garage sale. I didn’t feel guilty underlining it!! I underlined the names as I read them and then when I saw these names at a later time, they actually meant something to me. Now I am doing a chronological and it has been way over a year reading it. But I don’t worry about the amount each day, I try to ponder over the content. Sometimes I read less than a page, but the topics wander around in my head all day. I start each day with prayer and Bible reading, and especially after our trip to the Holy Land, it connects a lot more with me. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

