Life Within a Holy Nation


GodReflection: Life in the Holy Presence

garyguarujaI often hear others pray various forms of “may our nation return to its former identity as a Christian nation.”

My kneejerk reaction is always the same.

I’m not sure any nation is or every has been Christ-like in its actions. Perhaps a better request would be that we who make up the body of Christ yeast14claim our own God given identity of Holy Nation.

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light (1 Peter 2:9.)

Maybe I should pray that we who follow Jesus would live our holy nation identity before all who have not yet gone through the process to receive citizenship in God’s kingdom.

I am drawn to Jesus illustration of yeast: “The kingdom of heaven is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into about sixty pounds of flour until it worked all through the dough.”

yeast4I suspect if I were to act more like he teaches me to act then others could more readily see the Jesus’ yeast flow from my own walk.

Sixty pounds is a chunk of flour. But, it is amazing what a little yeast can do.

It is the yeast that makes dough rise and become light before it is baked. Yeast permeates the entire loaf. It modifies a dead lump of flour when infused into the bread recipe.

Yeast is the Godly architectural genius behind the concept of the Holy Nation.

To use Jesus yeast analogy, I picture God’s Holy Nation at work across the face of our globe. I think of the untold thousands of churches penetrating their communities.

yeast13I think of Christ followers who move to unfamiliar cultures to acquire languages not their own to be yeast.

I think of hospitals, doctors, nurses, lab technicians, and a gazillion other health care personal who daily go to work across the face of the globe to be yeast in the name of Jesus.

I think of teachers committed to the Savior. Both male and female educators in all disciplines of learning who by the hundreds of thousands enter into classrooms and technical schools as they allow the yeast of the Jesus example to flow into millions of lives.

When I envision the multi-millions of books and Internet pages authored by God’s people I see yeast work its way into open hearts among the continents of the world.

yeast12When I think of the countless disciples of Jesus who work in law enforcement and government positions throughout the nations I think of yeast infiltrating dough.

When I think of pastors, teachers, evangelist, and deacons at work through local churches I envision the aroma of fresh bread thoroughly infused by yeast.

And as the Hebrew writer would say, I’ve yet to mention the yeast of Jesus that flows from line workers, executives, non-profit entities, the youth of the churches, Christian counselors, social worker, jungle pilots, and the list goes on.

I find it easy and right to be appalled at the Satanic violence that engulfs every village, town, city, and nation.

yeast2At the same time when I step back and take the global view I see the Holy Nation on the move to spread Jesus yeast.

Life within the Holy Nation breeds a sense of confident trust. It’s neat to imagine the unmeasurable quantity of Holy yeast that flows 24/7 across our planet to penetrate the unholy lump.

Maybe I should fret less and pray more often in both supplication and thanksgiving for the work of the Holy Nation?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Holy Nation

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Life In The Holy Presence and tagged , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

4 thoughts on “Life Within a Holy Nation

  1. I especially like your reflection today Gary. The problem as I see it in our Holy Nation is uncommitted Christians that do not realize why God put them on this earth. Work, fun, and pleasure come before God. The yeast does not get hold of their soul. I always enjoy your articles, but especially this series. Thank you for using your time to spread truth.

    Like

  2. Doc, thanks for the article…it helps to balance out one’s emotional state, with all the negative that is present in the world (as you mention)…truth is, only on the final day will we know all the places and ways that our God has put His ‘yeast’!

    Like

Leave a Reply

