Not My Rules—The Holy Rules


GodReflection: Life in the Holy Presence

garyguarujaHarmonious societies run by rules. Anarchy is the classic result of nations or groups within nations who no longer adhere to rules. This is easy to observe any hour of the day or night by a click to a news channel.

Families operate by rules. To view a mini-anarchy I need only go to a grocery story. More times than not I can observe a child who delights in the obliteration of mommy’s or daddy’s rules.

rules1Christians set rules and expectations when we gather in group assemblies for worship. As we honor the Holy each group works together to follow rules that will make for an orderly assembly aimed at worshipful praise to the Holy and mutual edification of those assembled.

Rules are good.

However, the ultimate reality is the Holy does in fact Rule above all.

The Holy rules the orbits of the planets. The Holy rules over earth, its atmosphere, its vegetation, its oceans, seas, animals and humans.

The HOLY Rules.Rules are good but the sustaining Rule of Father, Son, and Holy Spirit is eternal and offers the absolute greatest good.

Jesus quoted his Father God when he taught the Holy desires that we humans are to operate under a two-part rule that takes care of all situations:

“‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

My task is to have the wisdom and humility to not make rules that infringe upon loving God and loving my neighbor.

rules5Any rule that I make or observe that keeps me or others from loving God and my fellowmen stands in conflict with the Rule of the Holy and must be declared mute.

Since the Holy Rules I want to hold Lightly to any claim I may make on rules that I’ve made. Because the Holy Rules I want to be cautious about rules others set before me.

Being a member of the body of Christ doesn’t make my rules holy.

I wonder what the Holy would think if we held a church meal where each of us brought a generous serving dish of our own homemade Humble Pie and unpretentiously shared its contents with our church family?

We might find the ingredient of grace in the mixture slipped into the recipe by the Holy.

I suspect the Godhead would look on with warm smiles and great pride in their children—don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on The Holy Rules

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

