Life in the Holy Temple


GodReflection: Life in the Holy Presence

The Lord is in his Holy Temple; let all the earth be silent before him (Habakkuk 2:20).

garyguarujaIn my Bible I find access to two temples. One is easier for me to comprehend than the other.

One temple is spotless and perfect. In it dwells all goodness and perfection. From that temple the God of heaven and earth oversees creation, plans the demise and destruction of Satan, and prepares eternity.

It is the Holy Temple that King David’s director of music described when he composed the following lines to encourage right living while under attack by the wicked:

The Lord is in his Holy Temple; the Lord is on his heavenly throne. He observes everyone on earth; His eyes examine them (Psalms 11:4).

Temple6It is in the same spirit that the prophet Habakkuk writes the lines that we sing to God and to each other as we worship, The Lord is in His Holy Temple; let all the earth be silent before Him.

As I witness a world that often seems to be on the brink of implosion from violence, deceit, lies, and the power hungry, I like the idea that I have access to the Holy Temple of God.

There I can deposit my fears and concerns with the One who sees all from His vantage point of Temple reign.

That temple I understand. If God is who He claims to be certainly the Temple where He resides is Holy.

However, it is the second temple description that causes me to pause.

When Paul describes me as a functional piece that makes up the second Holy Temple that causes me to wonder.

temple2I read that I am actually a brick in a new type of temple that is built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a Holy Temple in the Lord (Ephesians 2:20-21).

It is far too easy to miss the role I get to play in the big picture of God’s Holy Temple building.

When I take my eyes from the horizon I tend to see only how poorly most of us do at being temple. I focus on defective temple material with little effort rather than on how those materials are transformed to reflect Jesus.

When I take time to think about the grand picture I have cause to be humbly amazed.

Temple7God takes defective material and through His grace and the blood of Jesus makes it fit perfectly in the design of His Holy Temple that we call church.

And, what a remarkable temple it is. Its foundations stretch across the globe. It’s a building with millions of doors that are never closed.

From it flows good works that shower residents of the nations with love and the announcement of God’s free salvation gift.

Into its doors come people with hurts, pain, and messed up lives.

When Jesus indwells defective disciple the Temple reflects Holy.

Just maybe my clay brick when added to the Holy Temple isn’t so insignificant after all.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Life in The Holy Temple

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

