Promises Build Trust


GodReflection: Tenacious Trust

garyguarujaSince I am human and live on earth with those of the same species it didn’t take long to find myself as both instigator and recipient of broken promises.

Few things build trust like the fidelity of promises. Few things destroy trust so quickly as a broken promise.

promises2Promises and trust are joined at the hip. Trust needs promises and promises demand trust. Both need the Holy.

It only takes a political season when promises fill the air like a tickertape parade to illustrate the absence of trust.

I am not a marriage counselor. In addition to my void of training in the field, my patience deficiency factor adds up to zero credentials.

However, I believe myself to be rather astute in the area of observation of human behavior.

I would guess that the erosion of trust created by broken promises stands at the top of the list of broken marriages.

I would also venture a guess that every human being on planet earth has experienced hurt and stain due to broken promises.

So obviously human promises aren’t exactly the gold standard for building a life of trust.

I must look to the HOLY to find PROMISES that are ALWAYS KEPT.

There’s not a computer that can calculate the extent of blessings that come our way in the 21st Century from the availability of Scripture. In God’s timing scholarship, printing presses, linguistics, and the digital age make the promises of God available to millions.

Promises1Anyone who can read can examine God’s promises. Those of us who are blessed to read should see to it that other can at least hear of His promises.

Since He has a perfect score in the truth department from the past, I wouldn’t bet against Him for what He has promised for the future.

To trust God tenaciously can only come about when I reach the conclusion that God won’t lie to me. God has never lied.

I believe Scripture to be true. Not because someone told me it was true but due to a gazillion reasons that go beyond the scope and word limitations of this current post.

When Joshua Israel’s great leader settled the nation into the land promised by God completed his task he addressed the people:

“Now I am about to go the way of all the earth. You know with all your heart and soul that not one of all the good promises the Lord your God gave you has failed. Every promise has been fulfilled; not one has failed” (Joshua 23:14).

Promises Build TrustThe Apostle John promises:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. . .Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life (John 3:16 & 36).

Jesus promises:

For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day (John 6:40).

It is such promise that I can trust tenaciously. I can do so because they are tied to the Holy. Sounds like a good place to cast my vote.

On that I can build a life of tenacious trust.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on The Promises

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

