Can Guys Learn to Pray?


GodReflection: Silent God—Seeking His Voice

garyguarujaIt is my observation that we guys are lousy communicators. I know that is to hit you ladies blindsided with an unsuspected revelation that must shake you to your very core.

As I think of those within my sphere of awareness who serve on the offensive lines of prayer not many names of the male species emerge to the forefront of my mind.

When I read Scripture I find women like Anna (Luke 2:37) who never left the temple but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying and Hannah (1 Samuel 1:12) who kept on praying to the Lord, Eli [the prophet] observed her mouth. Hannah was praying in her heart, and her lips were moving but her voice was not heard. Eli thought she was drunk.

menpray5Then I read of Jesus’ closes friends and student who take their maleness to the Garden of Gethsemane the night of Jesus’ betrayal. After receiving instructions to pray, Jesus checks on them three times only to find them fast asleep.

Should the truth be told most of my role models for prayer have been men.

For reasons I will not go into here, my church tribe figured out how to use Scripture to make prayer a “males only” activity when women are present. Unfortunately, the result is a lifelong exposure to a rather elementary “prayer-light” menu. That makes for a limited model for learning to pray.

menpray1On other occasions I’ve found myself in situations where praying women were legal. The depth was obvious.  It was apparent their view of prayer was greater than one of an assignment. It was sustenance. It was heart to heart conversation.

We men have a tendency to talk TO God while the ladies seem to talk WITH God.

How do I learn to live prayer more like the gals than the guys?

There is one male role model I can count on.

I find his example and instruction in the Gospels. I can do no better than to measure my prayer life against the example and teachings of Jesus of Nazareth on the subject. 

Jesus conversed with the Father at his baptism, in solitude, during his daily activity, on the eve of his death, and in the process of dying. His conversation with God was guided by his heart. His heart connected with the heart of God.

Jesus came to earth as human to teach me how to be human. God’s desire for me is that I become a new human like His newly created Adam.

God wants heart conversation with His new Adams and Eves restored.

Adam was created whole. Whatever Adam lost through the fall is what God sent Jesus to restore.

CanHe wants me to be a whole man. In wholeness the conversation with the Creator is restored.

God restored my wholeness through my faith in the cross event of Jesus’ death and resurrection.

The conversation line is now restored. Even though the phone line is open, my fallen self still causes static.

I get the sense of the static clearing throughout my walk. By faith I see our conversation also moving toward full restoration.

Okay, I may not be as good at it as the ladies, but I have to believe that over the totality of my life’s walk, even guys can learn to pray.   

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Can Guys Learn to Pray?

 

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

