When I Pray—Can I Count On Every Promise in Scripture?


GodReflection: Silent God—Seeking His Voice

garyguarujaI totally and completely believe Scripture to be the inspired word of God.

From the beginning as I read my Bible I learned to accepts its words as literal in meaning. A common phrase was “It means what it says and says what it means”.

That works sort of well until I come across a passage like Luke 16:18.

promises1. . . they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.

Oh me of little faith. I don’t plan to test that verse anytime soon.

Or I come across the promise to the churches that received James’ letter.

Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up.

I’ve live long enough to see godly people die in spite of their attempt to honor James 5 and the prayer of faith.

Did God not answer the prayer of the elders and a righteous sick man?

I can unknowingly put God to an unjust test when I begin to design my understanding of the Holy by misguided expectations.

Do I have a right to call upon God to honor every promise in Scripture as though it were spoken directly to me?

Hear me clearly. I believe God answers every promise.

When I Pray Can I Count On Every Promise In Scripture_However, I doubt that every promise made in Scripture was directed at me.

Since the Bible is the story of God from creation to resurrection, is it possible that its stories are true while some of the promises and details were aimed at specific people who played specific roles in God’s purpose?

Since when have I become omniscient and started to understand completely the context of a given situation thousands of years ago that took place in a culture I will never comprehend?

Am I absolutely sure a certain situation or a certain answer to prayer applies to me and my here and now?

Since when have I begun to understand every intent in the mind of the Creator?

What if I begin to approach Scripture with greater humility?

What if instead of my attempt to sort and categorize promises I place my trust in my Creator?

Can I feel free to claim God’s promises then trust Him with His answer? (I think I will still make poison drinks and the submission of my veins to vipers off limits as I experiment with God’s promises).

By believing all the promises I don’t have to hold back in sharing the deepest desires of my heart with my Father. Should I wrongly understand a promise my guess is that God will cut me some slack. I think I read something about grace?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on When I Pray—Can I Count On Every Promise in Scripture? 

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

