Don’t Love the World


GodReflection: Guardrails for Living

Do not love the world or anything in the world. 1 John 2:15a

garyguarujaTrust me on this one.

God is not talking about mountain vistas and enjoyment of the gift of His creation. Nor is he speaking of ballgames and the pleasure of drinking coffee and interacting with close friends or acquaintances.

He is not against manicured lawns and well-kept Real Estate.

As the history of God’s story unfolds the globe continues to be divided between the world of God and world of Satan. There is no middle ground.

This is one of those times when Scripture highlights its primary point. God wants my love. For love to flow between God and me, He requires my allegiance.

God has shown His allegiance to me as ingrained in His character over a time span so vast that it cannot be measured. The fickle part of the equation always comes from my side of the table. Will I return His Love?

world13And so the Cosmic Scrimmage continues. It is a battle without onlookers from the sidelines. Every person is a participant. All choose sides.

We either enlist with God or we are drafted by Satan.

As followers of Jesus we know the eventual outcome.

However, the Serpent tells me not to believe God. He wants me to believe there is fulfillment in power and pride. The assembly lines produce unlimited products aimed at my pursuit of both.

world9The Devil asks me with all of the persuasion he can pretend, “What harm could there be in a little lust or a drug experiment to see what “high” is all about? It might be fun.”

The world of Satan flashes before me an elusion of gold and mountains of diamonds then tells me a bit of envy is a good thing. It can motivate me to pursue goals that will make me content.

The Devil tells me not to worry about a well targeted hate now and then. After all the objects of my wrath deserve it.

I have no problem to identify the world of Satan. My challenge is to not love it—not to even like it. I want to avoid it at all cost.

world5And so John sets another guardrail in place to keep my focus on God’s world rather than the world of the evil deceiver. Do not love the world or anything in the world.

His explanation of the powerful caution barrier continues:

If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them.

For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world.

The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever. 1 John 2:15b 17

To fail to heed John’s guardrail and willfully become involved in Satan’s kingdom is to ride the train conducted by the “prince of this world” over the cliff into the eternal abyss.

Sounds like this guardrail for living set in place by the wise old apostle should catch my attention don’t you think?  

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

 

A GodReflection on Don’t Love The World.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

