Closing Grace Thoughts


GodReflection: Breathing Grace

garyguarujaI am reminded of two of Jesus’ fictitious stories told to illustrate the treasured value of grace.

He told of two men who found valuable treasures. One found hidden treasure in a field and one a pearl of incalculable value.

In both cases they divested themselves of everything in order to obtain the ultimate value. The point of the stories is the call to divest oneself of self, surrender to the Lordship of Jesus and rejoice in the rich treasure of his grace.

I am drawn to song that we sang among my church tribe about the time we discovered the story line of Scripture to be one of God’s breath of grace rather than God’s book of rules. As late comers in our initial understanding of grace we began to sing twenty years later the words of a son written by Whitey Gleason in 1964.

It spoke of God’s grace as deeper than the ocean and wider than the sea. We reminded ourselves that God’s breath of grace is higher than the mountains and brighter than the sun. And best of all it is free for sinners like me.

Throughout the last fourteen posts I’ve attempted to mine a little deeper the vein of my understanding of God’s breath of grace. The truth is the riches of God’s grace span the deep and reach past the horizon.

The depth of grace is beyond human comprehension. A few posts on my part stand in contrast to countless volumes and an infinite number of thoughts dedicated to this incomprehensible gift from the Holy to sin filled humankind.

To reflect over the past thirty days, I was blessed to see that I witnessed grace being lived out prior to being confronted by no more than an elementary understanding of its core role in God’s story.

To an even greater extent I was impressed that God’s will for me as a recipient of His grace is to act as a heavenly sprinkler to reflect His grace upon all who cross my path. That is my assigned job description from Father, Son, and Spirit.

I thought about the fact that God’s breathe of grace is too good not to be true and it is available to me as I let Jesus control the rhythm of my heartbeat.

Grace is so good it covers all of my bad decisions. It is so powerful that it can save the most wicked person on earth who gives their life to Jesus. It is so all encompassing that I too would be as lost just like the vilest person alive without its cleansing power.

As I thought about God’s grace I was reminded anew of all the brokenness that I can’t fix. My toolbox is empty and I am helpless in the face of suffering, disease, and a million other ways Satan continues to mess with God’s world.

My hope rest in God’s promise that His grace is sufficient for me as His power will shine all the brighter through my weakness.

Once again the reality was impressed upon my soul that the breath of grace on my behalf was too costly to both Father and Son for me to use it as license and as an excuse to play with sin.

Even though I bring this series of grace posts to a close for now, I see anew there is yet a huge amount of excavation to be done between now and the end of my walk upon planet earth.

I hope you will commit to continue to dig with me.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells

A GodReflection on Closing Grace Thoughts.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.GodReflection.org

http://www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in Breathing Grace, God Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

