Seven Reasons to Rejoice: Renewal


untitledI am reading Stormie Omartian’s book “The Power of a Praying Wife.”

As I read this book, I am making a new friend. I wish I could have a cup of coffee with Mrs. Omartian and pick her brain some more. But I cannot. Yet, I can read her thoughts and get to know her heart through her writings.

untitledShe confesses her need for Christ to help her as a wife. She is a flawed author falling on Jesus’ teachings and draws me to want to fall more on God as I learn to be the wife God created me to be.

The Bible is a book written by flawed humans as well, but with a twist. Its ultimate twist is that it is inspired by a Holy, Perfect and Terrifyingly Loving God; the Only God in existence.

God terrifies me sometimes, but His Love draws me to Him at the same time.

I can’t put His Book down.

lightning-880154__180I understand why the people of Israel wanted Moses to go up the mountain for them; meeting God in person is like taking your life in your own hands.

Let me rephrase.

Meeting God is taking your life in your own hands. It is a risk.

dawn-190055__180

But the one who approaches God, as Moses did with humility and reverence, is blessed.

As I study God’s Word, I too stand face-to-face with God in my soul. But I also stand face-to-face with Love, Wisdom and the perfect Father.

bubble-19329__180I learn more each day how to take every thought captive. Every circumstance. Every nuance of life that might threaten my soul.

At the same time I can walk with sure feet because of Jesus. In and of myself, I fail. But with Christ I can do all things that are needing to be done in my life, and sometimes more than I can ever imagine to ask.

God is amazing to give me new days, new mercies and new opportunities to reflect his glory.

training-601214__180Spiritual renewal strengthens me to not only endure, but thrive through my most trying circumstances. And in time, the circumstances change, for change and growth is the only constant in life.

The question is: Is my mind new and fresh today to receive God’s direction?

If I am, I continue walking in blessing. And even if I am not prepared, I know I am walking by grace because God knows my heart and is guiding all circumstances, especially the ones I don’t see coming.

birds-217591__180But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. (Isaiah 40:31)

The same power that raised Jesus from the grave renews me every day, and helps my spirit grow stronger, run faster and soar higher, especially when it feels weak.

Amazing!

Leave a Reply

