Seven Reasons to Rejoice


denise-croppedTaste and see that the LORD is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him! – Psalm 34:8

Have you ever tasted something new and found joy in it? I know Jesus wants me to taste more and more of Him every day because He knows what he has to offer as God’s Son is good.

“Why do you call me good?” Jesus asked him. “Only God is truly good.” – Luke 18:19

education-548105__180Christ said that only God was truly good, and I attribute all of Christ’s good qualities to His divine nature. I want to be more like Jesus here. While living in my earthly tent, I also want to follow Christ’s good example of how to care for my jar of clay that was originally pronounced “very good.”

 

mountains-1012686__180Then God looked over all he had made, and he saw that it was very good! – Genesis 1:31a

As one whose heart is imprinted with God’s Good Spirit, I enjoy the fruits of a walk with God’s Holy Spirit. His Will lives side by side my own will in the home of my heart. I also enjoy the communion of my best friend Jesus as He partakes in the work of the Spirit in my heart by calling my will into line with the will of Good God.

And God is pleased when I offer right sacrifices, as He has been with those across the scope of time. And when God is pleased, he makes great decisions that not only affect me, but those around me.

day-996932__180And the LORD smelled a soothing aroma. Then the LORD said in His heart, “I will never again curse the ground for man’s sake, although the imagination of man’s heart is evil from his youth; nor will I again destroy every living thing as I have done.” – Genesis 8:21

What jumped off of the page of Scripture as I read this passage recently was the statement,I will never again curse the ground for man’s sake.” My faith muscle is strengthened to know that God removed the curse from the ground for our sakes. I have never heard this taught. I don’t have the knowledge to teach it, but have the faith to believe it.

life-862975__180As I meditated on this passage the past few weeks, a thought came to mind. Is it possible that God’s watering of the earth by the flood he sent in Noah’s time was a second chance for humanity to seek the Kingdom of God? Is it also possible that God was also giving Himself a second chance to gather more subjects for His unshakeable Kingdom?

tuscany-428041__180It appears that not only the ground is more manageable than it was before the flood in Genesis, but more hearts are being born and cultivated to hear and receive the Good News of Jesus Christ, and thereby walk with the Holy Spirit daily.

 

conservation-429700__180Walking with God’s Holy Spirit is renewable energy for the Christ-follower. Every day brings new mercies because of Jesus, history is an object lesson if sitting at the feet of Jesus and the future is a pathway to meeting Jesus face to face.

Now that is a reason to rejoice!

My next seven posts will be focusing on seven reasons to rejoice, all subjects beginning with two letters, “Re,” a prefix reflecting the concept of a do-over.

If you could use a do-over in any area, I hope you will join me on this journey with Jesus, author of second chances.

Amazing!

2 thoughts on “Seven Reasons to Rejoice

Leave a Reply

