Talents aren’t always Gold


GodReflection: Life With the Unfair

garyguarujaWe humans like the sound of gold. To own a gold mine, possess a stash of it or to have coins and items made from it has an appeal.

gold2Jesus told a story about value. Various translations translate the value issued into talents, gold, money, property, goods, or possessions.

Whatever the commodity, the owner gave five units to one, another was issued two, and the guy with lesser ability received one.

The master held one expectation. The article of trade was to produce between the date of issue and the time he was to return.

Gold1I think of a sentence that caught my attention in the first few pages of the book, YES, AND . . . by Richard Rohr.

He writes, “Literalism is invariably the lowest and least level of meaning”.

Certainly, that is the case with each of Jesus’ parables.

When I look across the landscape of acquaintances accumulated through my walk on earth I’ve notice that the unfair has a wide reach.

Some folks seem to be painted heavily with the unfair. Perhaps, the unfair came about from one’s own poor decisions. Yet, other times the unfair seems to lack a cause.

Back to Jesus’ parable:

Might it just be possible that Jesus’ example of talents and possessions take into account all that I am, have experienced, and possess? Is it possible that Jesus’ story is about the composite whole of my life and how it is to be invested?

gold11The thought occurs to me what if the unfair fits within Jesus’ commodity?

For whatever reason some receive five commodities of the unfair, while others receive two and life issues a third group only one.

Isn’t it the task of a disciple to take all that life places in one’s hand to increase value for the King?

Allow me to change the value in Jesus’ parable of Matthew 25.

“The man with two bags of UNFAIR also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two bags of UNFAIR; see, I have DOUBLED GROWTH INTO YOUR IMAGE.’

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

However, the complainer has a different story that results in condemnation.

“Then the man who had received one bag of UNFAIR came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed.  So I was afraid and went out and hid MY UNFAIRNESS in the ground. See, here is what gold9belongs to you.’

“His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? Well then, you should have invested YOUR UNFAIR so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest. . . throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

Truth is I am God’s gold. I am God’s commodity.

The entirety of my life is to grow and produce between the date of issue and as I wait the time of His return. Isn’t the Master’s expectation still the same?

Is it possible that while I wait His return life with the unfair can be invested into God’s purposes so that God, Son, and Holy Spirit receive praise?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Talents Aren’t Always Gold?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

