What’s the Big Deal about My Seven Road Signs?


A GodReflection: What’s the Big Deal about My Seven Road Signs?

garyguarujaAs I started to think through this post I notice a quotation on my desk that I pulled from the book The Language of God by Francis S. Collins who led the Sevensigns1Human Genome Project from 1993 until 2008:

“What we cannot discover through science alone, are the answers to the questions ‘Why is there life anyway?’ and ‘Why am I here?'”

The thought occurs to me that the Road Signs I’ve looked at in this series of posts are directed precisely at the answer to these two questions.

From God I learn about creation, why He created humankind, and the immeasurable love He has for His created children. I am on earth because He loves me and longs to have my heart beat with His.

From God I learn of Satan who caused the fall, and I learn of the Creator’s divine plan for restoration of a fallen humanity and a tarnished universe.

From Jesus I find out he is my gateway to God.

sevensigns10From Jesus I get a much clearer understanding of God’s nature.

He not only loves, but he cries with those in grief, cares about the sick, and waits in anticipation for His lost children to return home.

From Jesus I learn about how to live life. I learn to pray, to worship, and to honor God.

From Jesus I learn where to place my priorities. From him I learn the richness of grace that came my way and how I can grace the lives of all who cross my path.

From Jesus I learn forgiveness, and how to watch the condition of my heart.

From Jesus I learn how to prepare for death and what to anticipate on the other side of the grave.

From Jesus I learn how the Holy Spirit takes up residence in my heart and how he works with God, Jesus, and me, to chart my trail through life.

From Jesus I learn that I can spend eternity with the Holy and all of my resurrected friends I’ve come to know on earth.

sevensigns6However, it occurs to me that none of my seven road signs are “arrived words”. Each is a pathway in progress.

I can never place a check mark in a “know God” box. He is far beyond my pea-size brain to comprehend.

There will never be an occasion in this life when I can declare that I’ve got the lifestyle and teachings of Jesus nailed down.

Nope—no check in that box.

sevensigns11There are far too many Adamic rocks that Satan still scatters along my path.

So I stay busy getting up from my stumbles. I can only look forward to my life in the next reality in “no stumble” land.

Likewise, I’m still learning how to walk in step with the Holy Spirit.

Sometimes I hear him while other times I don’t listen very well. Nope—no check in that box either.

I find that my heart is far from being aligned one hundred percent of the time with the Holy. That box too is void of my “got it down” check mark.

However, here is what I can conclude.

My seven road signs absolutely answer the questions “Why is there life anyway?” and “Why am I here?”

sevensigns8And, as long as I walk with my eyes on Jesus and my trust in God I am continually cleansed from all my sin.

That keeps me in fellowship with the Holy while on earth and in the presence of God, Son, and Holy Spirit, in eternity.

So for me–that makes my seven identity stones a big deal.

I would love to hear your reaction to this series of posts.

Next time I plan to introduce a new series under the title: Life Ain’t Fair.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on What’s the Big Deal about my Seven Road Signs?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

6 thoughts on “What’s the Big Deal about My Seven Road Signs?

  1. GARY, A lovely job of grasping width and depth of our journey and the roles so many factors, persons and principles, play in one way or often another, Grace and Peace,Lynn  

    Like

    • Lynn, I appreciate your comment. It’s rather simple when I think that to follow God and Jesus they only seek faith, trust, and my heart. On the other hand that relationship offers a gold mine of riches that only gets richer the deeper one digs. Have a great weekend.
      Gary

      Like

  2. This is the first time that I’ve noticed the “5 star” thing at the top! Sorry. YES, 5 stars, without a doubt! Thanks for sharing, dear Gary. God bless you and your family. Sending love and hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

