What’s the Big Deal about My Heart?


GodReflection: What’s the Big Deal about my Heart?

“The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

garyguarujaJust as God designed a heart to pump life sustaining blood to the veins, He designed a heart to pump life sustaining blood to the soul.

My heart is a big deal.

When I set out to do this series of post I set my sight on seven things I must get right during my walk on earth. The idea is that if I get these seven “biggies” right everything else will follow.

The converse I believe to be true.

If I fail to get the seven areas right I will messed up my stay on earth and will miss the opportunity to live in the next reality covered by the daily presence of the Holy—a joy that far exceeds my imagination.

So I tie my hope and my destiny to seven words.

That means I want to get life and death right.

I want to get Satan right so that I recognize and avoid his hellish deceptions.

I want to get God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit right for it is through them I can in fact get life and death right and receive protection against Satan.

heart7However, there is a key to getting the above right.

All six concerns are dependent upon my heart.

In Scripture, from its opening pages through its final word the heart is the battle ground. The heart is God’s most sought after possession. It is the only gift He desires from me.

Until the Almighty has my heart I will not view God as Sovereign. Until He has my heart I will get neither life nor death right on my own. Until He has my heart I will continue to play with Satan.

Until He has my heart I cannot respond to Jesus in gratitude for His gift of grace. Until He has my heart I will remain shut off from the Holy Spirit’s desire to be active in my life.

heart1Jesus said, Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God” (Matthew 5:8). For it is only from the heart that God is heard. To surrender to Creator God is a heart action. To refute Satan is judgement that originates in the heart.

To crown Jesus as the king of me can only come from a heart decision. To repudiate the roadmap to eternal death while following the trail of eternal life comes from a heart resolution. To walk with the Holy Spirit is the choice of an obedient heart.

So here I stand with seven foundation stones to underpin my walk. I must get God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, life, and death, right. To make that possible I must rightly identify Satan to avoid him. And, I must get my heart right to allow it to serve as the gateway for the Holy to claim my life and make me a winner over death.

In the next post I want to propose that the big deal about these seven words is that everything I believe and attempt to put into practice on my path from life to eternity flows from the seven.

If that is true then my seven words are a BIG DEAL.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on What’s the Big Deal about my Heart?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

