What’s the Big Deal about the Holy Spirit?


A God Reflection: What’s the Big Deal about The Holy Spirit?

garyguarujaA live rocket launch is on my list of things missed.

When the USA space program rocketed toward the moon mission I was too young and too poor to travel to Cape Canaveral.

I missed the feel of the earth shake. I never experienced the morning darkness explode into light and the need to cover my ears as rocket engines blasted to life as power to thrust a space capsule into orbit.

HolySpirit5Live coverage on black and white television failed to do justice to the powerful scene driven by the flash of Rocket fuel.

Rocket fuel provided the explosive power to reach the moon.

I’m in a series of posts on the Big Seven. I find there to be seven core beliefs that are a big deal. My premise is that every other belief I hold flows from the foundation of seven.

Over the past five posts I’ve attempted to make the case that what I believe about life, death, Satan, God, and Jesus is fundamental to setting the direction of my walk.

I now add stone number six.

HolySpirit3The Holy Spirit is a big deal.

In my mind rocket fuel makes a rather good analogy of the Holy Spirit. Like fuel in a rocket the Holy Spirit’s residence in my inner being is the power source that fuels my walk.

Without the Holy Spirit I’m dead in the water.

I’ve yet to understand the power and the potential of the Holy Spirit. I know just enough to know I can’t be at the heart of God’s mission when I bench the Holy Spirit to a third rate reserve player.

A well-known prayer/song attributed to the fifth century missionary St. Patrick made the pages of history under the title of St. Patrick’s Breastplate.

The song of nine verses begins and ends with these four lines:

I bind unto myself the Name,
The strong Name of the Trinity,
By invocation of the same,
The Three in One and One in Three.

HolySpirit6The final verse closes with the above four lines and brings them to a crescendo with these words:

The Three in One and One in Three.
By Whom all nature hath creation,
Eternal Father, Spirit, Word:
Praise to the Lord of my salvation,
Salvation is of Christ the Lord.

God, Spirit, and Son, are three in one and one in three.

I serve a Threefold God.

The Holy Spirit is like a holy mirror. He reflects God and Jesus straight into my soul.

Is it fair to picture the Holy Spirit as the Holy Receptacle or the keeper of the Holy Keys who opens the door at my request to allow God and Jesus to dwell inside my inner most being?

The Holy Spirit appears one hundred four times in my Bible. Of those appearances, ninety-six are found in the New Testament relating to Jesus and his church.

HolySpirit1Received upon baptism (Acts 2:38) to reside in the body-temple of all disciples (1 Corinthians 6:19) the Holy Spirit guided New Testament Christians by reflecting God and Jesus.

Just as I must take life, death, Satan, God, and Jesus seriously to navigate life’s road, I too must understand when it comes to charting my course the Holy Spirit is a big deal.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on What’s the Big Deal about Holy Spirit?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

 

 

Leave a Reply

