What’s the Big Deal about Life?


garyguarujaGodReflection: What’s the Big Deal about Life?

I would suspect that most people on planet earth have wondered, if not expressed the question in one form or another, “What is the meaning of life?”

Perhaps, the question comes in the form of, “Why was I born?”

Am I a random act of nature or am I on earth for a purpose?

What’s the big deal about life?

Baby Picture GaryTo the best of my understanding the importance of that question is foundational to my walk. The way I answer the question either gives meaning to my existence or I can throw my life to the wind and live as I please.

People label themselves as atheist, agnostics, or believers determined by their view of life.

Along my walk I had to decide what made the most sense. Is life designed and planned or is it the result of randomness?

Am I placed on earth by the Creator or not?

Early on the grandeur of life caught my attention.

I was born into a home of believing parents and into an extended family heritage that honored God and attempted to follow His Son. I have no rational explanation for why God placed me where He did in this world.

life6I grew up loving the summer months on the desert of New Mexico. Each summer my brother and I would place our beds in the back yard.

Next to the willow tree at night the summer stars twinkled with excitement.

I focused on their vastness and splendor as the final frame prior to the close of sleepy eyes.

My family loved to camp in the mountains and the foothills and to fish anywhere there was water. I began to see the wonder of creation.

life7I was taught from infancy about the God who created mountains, animals, fish, rivers, and lakes.

As life progressed I sat in classrooms of both Godly teachers and atheist professors.

Somewhere along the trail of these early life experiences, their composite whole brought me to the conclusion that to be on earth for no reason cannot make sense.

I am hardwired to spend a great portion of my life in my head. To this day my daughter accuses me of living under a rock. Like a whale I surface from time to time for light and air.

life10Under my rock, next to my most inner thoughts, I concluded life is a big deal.

However, what makes life a big deal is the realization that life is packed with purpose.

Whatever that purpose is—shouldn’t I attempt to get it right?

Life is a big deal. I must get right.

To not get it right generates emptiness within my soul and zero hope beyond death.

Therefore, I not only want to get life right but, I want to get death right. That is the topic of the next post, “What’s the big deal about death?”

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on What’s the Big Deal about Life?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

 

Leave a Reply

