God Breaks In With New Creation


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” – Revelation 21:5

garyguarujaI’m not much of a newspaper fan. In fact, I am not much of a news junkie. I don’t want an around the clock diet of robbery, murder, and war.

Too often I get hung up on the old and the chaos.

It saddens me to visit neighborhoods and commercial districts that were once characterized by order, progress, and grandeur, only to find abandonment and decay.

creation2Sure, all of the above exists.

The reality is should I focus on that story line, I will wither away while the deterioration will continue.

There is another story line I prefer to follow.

It is a story line that addresses the chaos of today. It is a story line that addresses the chaos of history and a story line that addresses my own present and my future.

I want to trust God with the story line of renewal.

God—through the Old Testament prophets promised an eternal king. This king would be creation4appointed to the throne by God.

The Prophet Isaiah reported to Israel what God told him to reveal.

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland (Isaiah 43:19). See, I will create new heavens and a new earth. The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind (Isaiah 65:17).

The people waited.

Then it happened.

It was as if God started a new calendar to accompany the beginning of the new creation.

God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, to a virgin . . .

creation5The angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God. You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus.

He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.” – Luke 1

That birth allowed humankind to see God up close. With the life, death, burial, resurrection, and ascension of King Jesus, God’s renewal was placed center stage for all to see.

The apostle Paul after his spotlight encounter with Jesus on the Damascus road and after walking with him for decades, stood witness to the power and source of new creation.

His description is the new reality:

What counts is the new creation (Galatians 6:15). Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!  (2 Corinthians 5:17)

creation7As I see it my task throughout my walk on planet earth is to be in Christ. For in him all is made new (even me). As his new creation he transforms and recreates me step by step to what will one day be my eternal and perfect heart.

So for now, to remain in Christ my game plan is to keep working on my heart to increase its receptivity to the heartbeat of Jesus.

creation9I want to stay close to Scripture to be more in tune to Holy Spirit guidance. I want to pay close attention to all who cross my path. How can I reflect Jesus light on their road?

And, I plan to keep my antenna raised to pick up signals from fellow disciples who are ahead of me in their understanding of what it means to live as a new creation.

Perhaps, new creation can continue to break into my life, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks In With New Creation.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

http://www.GodReflection.org 

Leave a Reply

