I Was Born Thirsty


GodReflection: Power Words

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? – Psalms 42:2

garyguarujaI was born thirsty.

It’s a God gene planted in every human soul.

It’s the feeling of incompleteness. It’s the thought that there must be more. It’s the awe that every human being has experienced periodically in the presence of rainbows, starlit skies, and majestic mountains filled with color and regal creatures.

It’s the thirst planted by God and affirmed by King Solomon: He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end (Ecclesiastes 3:11).

I would guess that God’s greatest desire is to see us sip the Holy water. His hope is that I become addicted. His thirst quenching water provides a strange sensation. It satisfies as it simultaneously creates a thirst for more.

thirst1Like so many others who live in the “over developed” world, I’m sure thirst doesn’t create near the word picture in my reality that it creates in people without water systems to provide fresh cool water available at the turn of a faucet.

David described his thirst for God from a hideout in the Desert of Judah with the words: You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water (Psalms 63:1).

David knew thirst.

His thirst for God was desert thirst. His thirst for God was a parched thirst.

My description of thirst stands anemic when place alongside of David’s.

Both David’s thirst and my thirst find refreshment in Jesus and his promises.

thirst6From his voice I hear the promise of being satisfied if I thirst for righteousness.

I hear the reassurance in his voice when he promises that the water he gives will cause me to never thirst.

It is like the possession of a spring of water in my soul welling up to eternal life.

My thirstiness brings power when I hear Jesus say whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

Jesus closes the Scriptures with these words: To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life (Revelation 21:6). Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life (Revelation 22:17).

Jesus thirst quenching spring is free. It’s a gift. No charge for the thirsty.

The power in the word thirst reminds me that Jesus is the source of my daily walk and the fulfillment of my destination, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Thirst as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com    

www.GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

