God Breaks Into Grief


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

garyguarujaIt comes with the human condition. It can’t be avoided. Grief is all too personal yet like the common cold is prevalent among all humanity.

Far too often television’s big screen brings before my eyes and my heart the aching plight of multitudes in the depth of grief after indescribable tragedies across the face of the globe.

Television, Internet, and funeral homes remind me of grief caused by death. Yet, grief has a longer reach still.

I don’t know exactly how to define it, but we humans are born with the innate ability to differentiate good from evil.

Gary Bicycle 5 yrsEven as a little white-headed tyke I started to make decisions about what was right and what was wrong. I decided whether to steal or not. I determined the course—good or evil—that I wanted to pursue.

Sure, I was blessed with discipline and guidance of parents, other adults, and peers who trained me to select good words for my vocabulary while making the judgement that certain words were not the sort of words to spew from my mouth.

At a certain point I decided to believe God rather than ignore His presence.

What does all of the above have to do with grief?

grief3Grief results from inability to fix evil.

I grieve when I open the door for Satan to influence my behavior. I can’t fix past mistakes. I can only grieve before God my wrongful actions.

Not only do I grieve when I mess up, but I grieve when those I love make poor choices out of my control.

In addition to my own stupid mistakes grief is produced by actions out of my control.

In Scripture I see Jesus break into grief.

He brings Holy light to change wrong attitudes and actions that cause grief.

I see Jesus stop a funeral procession and remove the grief of a mother who is about to bury her son. I see Jesus enter into the grief of Mary and Martha at the grave of Lazarus their brother.

I see Jesus breaking into the grief of women abused by sin and society. I see Jesus breaking into grief produced by sickness, blindness, deafness, and lameness.

grief1So what?

How are Jesus’ actions in Scripture relevant to my here and now?

People I love still die. I still take my Adamic body to doctors and hospitals for pain relief.

The grief of tragedy still strikes across the face of the globe.

Here is what I think.

Jesus came to demonstrate eternal life that is available with himself as the Holy Son, his Holy Father God, and the Holy Spirit.

Because of Jesus’ death, burial, resurrection, and ascension, he could assure his closest followers and believers of every century since, You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy (John 16:20).

grief2When like the Psalmist I find my eyes are dim with grief (Psalms 88:9), I want to remind myself of the promise learned by the apostle Paul from his Lord Jesus, Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope (1 Thessalonians 4:13).

That’s it—Jesus breaks into grief with hope so tangible that by keeping my focus glued upon him I can see through my own tragedies to the glow of eternal life.

Isn’t it our assignment as disciples to equip as much of the world as possible with the power of Jesus to handle grief?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks Into Grief.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “God Breaks Into Grief

  1. I always enjoy your messages, Gary. I’m holding onto the promise that our grief will turn into joy. I’ve always read that only for the disciples, but today I’m taking those words as a promise for all of us who believe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

