I’ve Moved My Ladder—Not My Church


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaThe calendar declared the arrival of fall. Thus far, neither the sun nor the thermometer realized it happened.

Fall is on my mind. I’m ready for a cooler season.

We’ve just planted a needed shade tree that will spend its fall and winter months focused on underground growth in preparation for spring and summer production.ladder7

Unseen roots will develop over fall and winter months to play a huge role in the vitality of our new October Glory Red Maple tree.

I’m now in my fourth year of my blog journey.

Prior to that time I experienced a long period on the action path of spring and summer.

Deep exploration of my life’s root system was limited.

From the first post I declared a felt need to reflect on God and get to know the Creator more closely.

ladder8My objective I stated in the following words:

The first third of my life I majored in learning. The second third of my life I majored in doing. In my final third, I am concentrating on being.

To reflect upon being is to reflect upon God. I will still learn and do, but my major focus as I see the sun moving toward the horizon, is to be.

I want to be bold and allow you to look over my shoulder while I attempt to look into my own heart and mind as I reflect on God in anticipation of moving toward my own life’s finish line.

There is a deep longing in my soul to reflect on God and his desire that I experience his ultimate and eternal good. I want to know God more and more as a friend because I believe that is how God wants to know me.

ladder3If I were to attempt to state the biggest change in my growth over the months toward my current understanding of the message of Scripture, I would describe it in the following sentence:

I’ve Moved My Ladder—Not My Church.

Often, I’ve heard the analogy of spending one’s life climbing a ladder only to discover the ladder is leaned against the wrong wall.

Let me offer a disclaimer. I love the church and am amazed at its power and potential to serve a broken world as the body of Christ. However, without Jesus there is no church.

For historic reasons that I am only now beginning to understand, I spent most of my life with my ladder leaned on the wall of the church rather than learning to walk with Jesus. To get church right was primary in my walk with God.

I haven’t changed my church.

ladder6I still believe church to be the body of Christ charged to reflect Jesus. The church is designed by Creator God to penetrate evil. Through His Son and the church God is redeeming to perfection His world that was flawed by Satan and the garden couple.

What I did change is my emphasis.

I’ve moved my ladder from the wall of church to Jesus.

For most of my life I’ve dissected church far more than Scripture justifies.

I truly believe if I get Jesus right then I will stand in perfect relationship to his church.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on My Ladder and Jesus.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

One thought on “I’ve Moved My Ladder—Not My Church

  1. Gary, These principles and reflections are truly some of your most classic and timeless thoughts put together in a most palatable, extremely digestible fashion. Congratulations on letting God use you in this way, Grace and Peace,Lynn  

    Like

Leave a Reply

