To Bear Loads and Produce Fruit


garyguarujaGodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

There is a power word that shows up in the teachings of Jesus and mirrored in the instructions of the apostles.

From Jesus and the apostles I learn that I am to bear.

It sounds a lot like work.

I don’t receive any sense that I am dealing with a passive action.

bear1The first image that comes to mind is a pack burdened with supplies needed for the duration of a journey.

To bear is not a word that comes to mind to describe the feeble and the frail.

To bear is robust. To bear comes from Holy Spirit power.

The heavy act of the word bear causes me a sense of discomfort.

There is also power in the uncomfortable bear.

This aspect of bear I more readily associate with cross.

bear4Both Peter and Paul understood fully the lifestyle of the cross. To be a follower of Jesus is to be willing to carry his cross.

I learn from Peter that I am to bear up under the pain of unjust suffering and even more so if my suffering comes because I bear the name of Christian (1 Peter 2:19 & 4:16).

From Paul I am encouraged to help bear another’s load and to bear the failings of the weak. He teaches me to bear up under temptation knowing God will not allow me to be tempted beyond what I am able to bear (Romans 15:1 & 1 Corinthians 10:13).

Here comes the real biggie. I am to bear those who wrong me and Forgive as the Lord forgave me (Colossians 3:13). I’m still working on that one.

For some reason I like the other aspect of to bear.

It just seems less cross heavy although in reality it is closely tied to the cross.

bear6I am to bear fruit.

This bear is robust and strong. This bear serves, teaches, loves, and cares.

This bear does not bring about mistaken identity. By good fruit all know the bearer is grafted into Jesus.

This bear is likewise powered by the Spirit. Such power bears good and succulent Jesus fruit.

Non-bearers are pruned and thrown into the fire – Matthew 7:20. Non-bearers are easy for the gardener Father to recognize—there’s no fruit.

Here’s the good news. It comes directly from the mouth of Jesus:

bear8“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.

. . . Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me”.

I bear fruit only as a direct result of remaining in Jesus.

There is something positive and attractive when it comes to being a participant in spreading the juicy grapes, golden pears, and the sparkling apples of Jesus goodness.

Young trees must take the time to grow and mature prior to becoming prolific fruit producers.

I remind myself that I am not a young tree. I’m at the stage in life when the power word ‘bear’ should be front and center stage in my walk.

Will you pray with me that it is so?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Bear as a Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

