God Breaks In With Kingdom


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

“The kingdom of God is in your midst.” – Luke 17:21

garyguarujaGod in my midst—so that’s what kingdom is about.

Like yeast works its way through the dough to make the loaf rise so kingdom penetrates the Biblical text from Genesis through the Revelation of John.

In Old Testament Scripture kingdom is a promise of an event yet to come.

The New Testament Scripture is the fulfilment of God’s promise.

Through the death and resurrection of Jesus God breaks into His world making kingdom a reality within reach of all of God’s creation.

So kingdom is a now reality. It’s tangible. I can live within its reality.

kingdom1The major portion of Jesus’ teachings in the Gospels is to help me understand the nature of the kingdom and the high stake involved in my rejection or acceptance of being one of King Jesus subjects.

Paul echoes the Son when he reminds me and the Colossian church that God rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves.

Sounds like present tense.

As I read the dialogue in the Gospel of John between Pilate and Jesus it sounds like a trial transcript.

It reads in part:

Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jewish leaders. But now my kingdom is from another place.”

“You are a king, then!” said Pilate.

Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.”

So here I am as I attempt to live into the standards of King Jesus while walking on earth’s soil where I still experience some of Satan’s residue.

kingdom3Because God broke into my world with gospel, my declaration is that my daily walk is in the world of the Kingdom. By so doing Jesus continually cleanses me of the satanic tarnish I may encounter along the trail.

I live on an earth that is penetrated by kingdom.

Is it possible when Jesus gave a model prayer he asked his children to work toward the Father’s wishes?

When he ask us to pray “Your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven,”  was he in essence giving me marching orders as a follower of Jesus?

While I am here is my goal to let the rule of God determine my walk?

kingdom8If so, as a subject of the king I share hidden treasure and pearls of great value with those far from God.

In the here and now I live in the present as the kingdom breaks into my everyday earth existence.

I am to serve the sick, proclaim the good news, work to eradicate disease, and care for the poor.

Those under kingdom rule grow in spirit, seek harmony, exemplify Jesus’ presence, gush grace, and live love.

Those under kingdom rule grow toward the same traits of innocence and purity shown by kingdom5little children.

As a kingdom citizen my assignment is the world. My task is to plant Jesus seed along my walk.

So the kingdom breaks into my life that I might pray in unison with the Apostle John as he held the churches of Asia up to Father God:

To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood, and has made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve his God and Father—to him be glory and power for ever and ever! Amen.

God’s desire for me is to serve Him as a priest of Christ’s kingdom. Powered by his love and cleansed by his love I am free to represent the king and serve his creation.

All because God broke into my world with kingdom.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks In With Kingdom.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

