I Was Appointed Ambassador


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaNormally, we common folks don’t give a lot of thought to the post of Ambassador.

It is a role assigned by kings, presidents,  and other authorities who serve as the heads of nations.

Most of us have never crossed paths with an ambassador.

An ambassador is a messenger, a representative of the nation’s leader. She or he serves on location in a foreign country to create good will and to represent the wishes of their Head of State.

ambassador11In New Testament Scripture the word is used twice by the apostle Paul. I love the way he employed the word.

To Corinthian believers he writes:

We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

 And, to Ephesian disciples he has a special request:

. . . keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.

Here is what I think.

ambassador12The reality is that as a disciple of Jesus I am his ambassador. It is a holy appointment. It is now my identity.

I claim the title of ambassador.

As an appointed ambassador my job description is to represent God as though God were making his appeal through me. He gives me a message to share with those I encounter: Be reconciled to God.

There are times when I need to speak that message forthright. On other occasions I speak the message by example. I don’t want to get in the way of anyone who needs to return to God.

My ambassadorship calls me to pray. I am to keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. My prayer is that the Holy Spirit will supply to them and to me just the right words to fearlessly ambassador3make known the mystery of the gospel.

So each morning when I awake I calm my title.

As I go about my tasks for the day I am to represent the power of the cross before those I encounter. The cross bearer is King Jesus. I am his ambassador.

It is the cross that fuels the power of my name tag that reads: Gary Sorrells, Ambassador.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Ambassador as a Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

