Control or Controlled?


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaAs I begin this post I have two thoughts that stand in juxtaposition.

My parents’ generation led the free world in victory during the Second World War.

With an unprecedented self-confidence they raised my generation to believe anything was possible—we could even place men on the control10moon and return them safely to earth.

Our future was within our control.

Along with the good from that same bag of seed we managed to plant a generous crop of arrogance.

The arrogance seeped into my faith.

It places me at the control panel. That is a good summation of  my first thought.

Second thought:

As of late I’ve watched newscasts showing the prototype of the automobile that drives itself.

control20I can only imagine the grandchildren of our grandchildren telling their kids of the difficult times of their growing up years back in the old days when they had to know how to drive their own cars.

Is it possible a day will come when there is no longer a need for a driver to control an automobile?  Will everyone enter the car for the sole purpose of the enjoyment of the ride while in route to the destination?

If only I could learn to live my life more in that manner.

control18The truth is when I am at the wheel I get into bumps, wrecks, and receive fines for my mistakes.

When I sin it is because I don’t surrender my control.

Satan taught me to believe in self-control.

Falsely he wants me to believe that I am the one who is supposed to be in control of what I do and what I don’t do?

Jesus has a better teaching. When I join myself to Jesus his Holy Spirit slips into my body. He takes over the controls of my life.I get into far less trouble that way.

control5I find that more often than not the trouble is limited to the times I reach across his spirit and push his fingers away from the control panel so I can take me for a spin.

It never ends pretty.I learn anew that I’m not the boss.

From the ditch I humble myself and once again surrender to him the control.

Be it from the Old or New Testament the underlying message from Scripture is that right control come from the power of the Holy.

control14Paul tells Roman Christians the key to no longer being slaves to sin is to let righteousness take control (Romans 6: 20).

I read (can I call it with a sad sense of humor) the story of Paul’s interview by Felix the Governor of Judea:

As Paul talked about righteousness, self-control and the judgment to come, Felix was afraid and said, “That’s enough for now! You may leave. When I find it convenient, I will send for you” (Acts 24:25).

Felix couldn’t take anymore. He was the Governor.Righteousness and self-control don’t mix well with being in charge.

Righteousness and control only work with King Jesus at the driver’s panel. “That’s enough for now” is the cry of Felix. He’s not about to take his hand from the control stick.

control15So here I am—faced with the power word control. Is it going to be me or is it going to be the Holy in control?

The answer will determine how I walk the streets of my neighborhood and whether or not I will walk the streets of gold.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Control as Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

