Who Moved My Furniture?


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguaruja“You can’t go home again” is a familiar saying among old sages.

The sun rises anew every morning. Cultures continue to change. Jesus is fresh every morning.

As my young parents worked to get a foothold in life, their newly formed family moved through four starter homes prior to the purchase of a wood framed military army barracks. They would turn the skeleton house without interior walls into a solid home.

Interior walls were constructed, paint was applied, landscape evolved, and piece by piece furniture was acquired, all to make up the familiarity I took for granted.

furniture1The well maintained house still stands out in the old neighborhood.

The table, chairs, folding couch, and bookcase headboards that I remember are long gone. It is no longer my home. Someone moved in their furniture.

I find the changed furniture analogy helps me understand the congregational life of being church.

Some churches are like homes where grandparents have lived for multiple decades. They are comfortable places for the occupants who have lived there the past sixty years. However, for visiting youth the furniture seems stale and out of date.

furniture10It’s fine to visit but who would want to live there?

So here I am trying to feel at home in congregational life that always evolves. The young are updating with new furniture.

In Scripture I find no support for tossing new furniture out even though It’s not my worn familiar ambience.

New furniture isn’t my furniture.

Here is what I think.

Surely, it must be a sin to make Jesus boring and to hide the joy that surrounds the free gift of the grace of God. It is far easier than I like to admit to keep newer generations from finding Jesus among the stale and outdated where I find such comfort.

It is far harder than I would like to admit to re-decorate with furnishings that make a multi-cultural world from diverse nations and assorted cultures feel at home so that together we might praise the Father.

furniture15A global shift took place during my lifetime. In my neighborhood reside neighbors from multiple nations. There is a sense that the nations are literally within the reach of my hands. I need to pray they are within reach of my heart.

Jesus, the cross, and the inspired text, are my north star to navigate my task of loving God and my neighbor. Should my furniture preference be more important than God’s agenda when I assemble with His children for family worship?

Is it possible for me to become more like Jesus even as others changed my furniture?

The church survived many centuries prior to four-part harmony and the three-point sermon. I suspect if we allow the Spirit to indwell us and guide us, the Holy has the power to cloth the Good News in its original joy and freshness for both the young and the diverse.

For now I will try to not hide God’s gift behind my old furniture preferences.

I look with great anticipation to the time when furniture will be eternal and all of God’s children find that His presence makes the furniture secondary.

Once again I find that right Jesus makes right doctrine.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Who Moved My Furniture?

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

5 thoughts on “Who Moved My Furniture?

  1. Oh Gary, I love your heart so much. You are one of the most Jesus-like , humble leaders and authors I know. This is a beautiful piece with powerful nuggets inside. A friend and I were just discussing this issue in the church. Please keep writing. Both the young and the old need your wisdom.

    Like

  2. Best line ever, Gary…..”The church survived many centuries prior to four-part harmony and the three-point sermon.” I don’t always have time to comment, but I always appreciate what you have to say.

    Like

  3. Gary you are just a treasure! You find just the right words and phrases and with your gentleness, open eyes. Thank you ever so much. Our hearts, our souls are so much more important than our furniture. Beautiful simplicity!

    Like

Leave a Reply

