Jesus didn’t just die for me – He came to life for me


denise-croppedIn a romance that ends tragically, one of the two in love dies so the other might live. In a comedy, one of the two commits a selfless act so grand that the object of their affection returns the love, and the two waltz into the sunset to live together forever.

maldives-698501__180The tragedy of the cross is not the end, it has produced a joyful, comic end; that of King Jesus living for his beloved bride. But the bride is not an impersonal body with disconnected body parts. She is being prepared for her wedding day, working out her worldliness, sin and disconnectedness from truth.

In the same way, we who have received more than we deserve and are part of this beautiful body of Christ are being prepared personally as we with Christ’s wisdom work out our own worldliness, sin and disconnectedness from truth.

wedding-791299__180“Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the LORD, “Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Though they are red like crimson, They shall be as wool.”

  • – Isaiah 1:18

Truth is broader, deeper and wider than church walls. It penetrates families, all relationships past, present and future and helps us navigate this temporary material world for the glory of God.

suyan-766428__180Jesus didn’t die so I’d die to the material world, he died that I would die to materialism. It’s the only way to know how to use the materials of this world for God’s glory. In this way, Jesus didn’t just die for me, but he came to life for me that I might know how to use all of my material gifts for his glory.

He died so I would know how to live within all my relationships with gratitude and offering service where ever I go. He died so I would know better how to honor and love others without giving them the worship only God demands and deserves.

CaptureBecause my bride groom came to life for me, I can wear His name without reproach or shame. While I own myself before Him, He never gives up on me because He gave me life. This is the best story in history and deserves being told as often and as many ways that point us to the truth of the Gospel.

Those ways include the story from Scripture itself, my testimony of God’s work in my life, any kind of writing or art that expresses God’s ultimate love and plan for man’s redemption, conversations that include Jesus in every aspect of family dynamics, business and community relations. The opportunities to reflect the Gospel are as endless as the life awaiting those of us who claim Jesus and are anxiously awaiting his return.

wedding-256853__180

Gather the people, Sanctify the congregation, Assemble the elders, Gather the children and nursing babes; Let the bridegroom go out from his chamber, And the bride from her dressing room.

-Joel 2:16

Amazing!

2 thoughts on “Jesus didn’t just die for me – He came to life for me

Leave a Reply

