I Died – I Didn’t – I Will – But I Won’t


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

“For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.” – Colossians 3:3

garyguarujaI like Eugene Peterson’s rendering of Luke 6:46-47 in The Message.

These words I speak to you are not mere additions to your life, homeowner improvements to your standard of living. They are foundation words, words to build life on.

That pretty much captures the essence of my attempt in these posts on power words. They are foundational words I’ve identified to guide my walk.

Today’s word is sobering and places reality into its proper perspective real quickly.

Died shouts finality.

died7I’ve witnessed death on far too many occasions. Its survivor is a cold and stiff corps that begins immediate deterioration. There is no longer any sign of life. What lies in the casket no longer has use.

It is dead.

Unlike some, I don’t have a written death certificate to confirm date and time when I died to sin. The death and burial act took place in the waters of baptism. However, I was somewhat surprised at the realization of sin’s livelihood after resurrection from my watery grave.

Had I not totally died to sin?

I’ve since discovered that what happened at baptismal waters was my death to the rule of sin in my life and what I acquired in that act of submission was the indwelling Holy Spirit to keep sin out of the driver’s seat.

Inadvertently, I still think, say, and do dumb things that are far from the heart of God. But because I died to sin its power is not the controlling tenor of my walk.

died5Unless Jesus returns while I still have a beating heart I will die at the end of my earth walk.

I’ve lived long enough to hate death.

It is sobering to think of the huge number of people now dead who spoke into my life.

On three occasions I stood by bedsides and witnessed the struggle of the battle between death and the soul. The soul’s struggle was intense as it sought to be set free from a dying body.

Because I died to sin, my physical death is the only death I will experience.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly (Romans 5:6). But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8). 

Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him (Romans 6:8). The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God (Romans 6:10). For this very reason, Christ died and returned to life so that he might be the Lord of both the dead and the living (Romans 14:9).

Since I died to sin my physical death becomes a passage into eternal life. I will never die again. Nor will I ever again suffer the trauma of loss through death.

To the contrary, every loss I’ve experienced within the family of God will be restored. I will experience life on a new eternal earth within a new eternal universe. Life will have conquered. Death will have lost.

died8So, what may seem like a strange choice, I add died to my list of power words. I want to remember each day my determination to remain dead to sin and be alive to Jesus and for Jesus.

That makes died a rather powerful foundation word to serve as a compass for my trek through life don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Died as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

