Perseverance Crosses the Finish Line


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaI have this theory. There may be only one aspect of stubbornness that is a good trait.

My theory is I suspect it is easier for stubborn people to cultivate perseverance.

Although, I can’t recall Scripture including it on any virtue list, at the heart of stubbornness is the unwillingness to give in or give up. It seems to me that can be an asset in growing perseverance.

Is it possible that my stubborn label can serve me well?

persever8To persevere is to refuse to give up on God even when life hits seemingly impenetrable obstacles.

Perseverance goes beyond stubbornness in the way it is obtained.

Paul says that I acquire it through suffering (Romans 5:3). He also prays that Jesus followers have the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance (2 Thessalonians 3:5).

Christ suffered execution by crucifixion and found strength in the Father to complete his mission upon planet earth. That is the sort of perseverance God wants me to imitate. He wants me to faithfully complete my walk—no matter what Satan throws in my path.

Both Paul and James learned the same lesson from James’ older brother Jesus; one through revelation and the other through the experience of growing up with the Son of God as his big brother.

persever10James observes as faith is tested, perseverance is produced (James 1:3), and if I will allow it to finish its work I will reach maturity, be a complete person, and not lack anything (James 1:4).

From the Apostle Peter I learn that I didn’t step onto the stage of faith with stickability.

It is an acquire characteristic that grows from adding to my faith goodness, then knowledge, then self-control, THEN PERSEVERANCE. And from that base godliness grows, then mutual affection, and finally the resultant love starts to show substance (2 Peter 1:5-7).

For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ (2 Peter 1:8).

As I reflect on perseverance I think of an inspiring scene painted in an ancient sermon.

The Hebrews sermon has to rate among the top ten sermons since Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount.

It took place several decades after Jesus’ promised return and his ascension to Father God.

Apparently, God’s interest was not to divulge the name of the speaker. It is as if God wanted the church through the ages to hear the message as coming direct from His heart.

Discouragement in the community of the believers ran high.

Have we brought into the right Messiah? Is Jesus going to keep his word? Did he forget to return?

At the heart of the Hebrew sermon was motivation to trust the Holy and persevere.

persever1With the imagery of the greatest of all races the following lines echo with increasing relevance as I await Christ return:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us (Hebrews 12:1).

Perseverance plays a key role in my earth walk. It will allow me to cross the finish line and hear the words I long to hear. Well done good and faithful servant.

It makes perseverance a rather powerful word don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Perseverance as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

