God Breaks Into Unknown


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

garyguarujaPerhaps it’s my age. I don’t believe I’ve ever been as aware of what I don’t know as I am at this point in my life walk. The truth is I live most of my life in the unknown.

I live in the unknown in regard to the past.

Darkness covers the history between “In the beginning’ and my current reality. The vast majority of the past didn’t make the history books. Therefore, more unknown than knowns surrounds my understanding of the past.

I think of the here and now of my earth walk.

unknown1An exposure to education and to the vastness of the internet leaves me overwhelmed at the rate unknowns are uncovered in the 21st century. It is as if every second, great minds add to the body of the known. The new discovered knowledge of humankind makes it increasingly apparent just how little I know.

To see my brain of understanding as flea size—which is probably to think too highly of my capacity—is an overstatement of my standing in the unknown.

How about the future?

unknown4There is no greater declaration of the direction the future will take than the word unknown.

God gives me a compass to navigate through anxiety created by the unknown.

In the darkness of uncertainty God breaks onto planet earth with the gift of His only Son to make known what matters most—to make God known.

No one has ever seen God, but the one and only Son, who is himself God and is in closest relationship with the Father, has made him known (John 1:18).

unknown2Slowly, baby step after baby step, increasingly I begin to know God. Trust starts to grow. I begin to understand that I can trust God to hold all of the unknowns in His hands.

Through Jesus I learn how to live each day. Through the Holy Spirit I know the source of power to live what I know as I walk the unknown.

Here is what I suspect about the purpose of the unknown.

It is God’s greenhouse to grow earthling hearts.

unknown3The unknown is where God cultivates trust. It is God’s glasshouse where faith can flourish. The unknown is God’s atmosphere to propagate, mature, and increase my trust in His care.

There is an unknown that I anticipate. It exceeds the high of all highs of the most outlandish joy and the greatest excitement that I could possibly imagine.

It is the great anticipation painted by the Apostle John.

In the here and now as a child of God what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is (1 John 3:2).

For God to break into the unknown with a promise like that, I want to trust Him to navigate uncharted waters and follow His Son into an eternal future where the unknown no longer exists.

Have you ever thought what it will be like to live without the unknown?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks Into the Unknown.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Breaks In Monday, God Reflection and tagged , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

One thought on “God Breaks Into Unknown

Leave a Reply

