Dissension Through Kindness?


Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. – Paul the Apostle

GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaIt’s so easy. Surely, anyone can be kind. Why is it so hard?

There are days when I walk by the spirit of Jesus and there are days when I show my Adamic heart and limp through showing more of the spirit of Satan than the spirit of Jesus. On the days when I let Jesus be out front I end the day with a greater sense of peace.

It is those days when I compliment the grocery sacker, smile and say hello to strangers who cross my path, give attention by a grin, a wink, or a contorted face to a little one who is imprisoned against their will in the seat of a shopping cart.

kindness6Like my parents before me, I’ve inherited the gene of maintaining a mailbox at my local post office. Our post office is stuck in time with heavy doors that remain worn out due to high traffic volume.

However, there is something sweet about those heavy doors and the incoming traffic of the package laden and the elderly clientele. I almost have to go there on an empty Sunday afternoon to not witness a smile, someone holding open a door, a thank you, or other kind words expressed as people enter and exit. It’s as if those heavy doors invite kindness.

In stark contrast, it is with great shame that I think of the far too many times I’ve left kindness on the shelf and acted in a spirit of opposition to Jesus.

What astounds me is that I’ve acted in such a manner to people who weren’t even my enemies. I’ve made harshness easier than kindness.

Jesus gives me good instruction on how to act with enemies.

kindness1I am to love my enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then my reward will be great, and I will be a child of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked (Luke 6:35).

Kindness towards my enemies is Jesus’ doctrine. However, the doctrine of kindness includes his expectation for me to show kindness to those who lack enemy status. That too is Jesus doctrine.

He does in fact teach that I am to treat all people as I want to be treated. I want to be treated with kindness.

kindness2I also have a missionary gene. My missionary friend of the first century draws me into his letters of encouragement to new Christ followers. His desire is that they reflect the heart of Jesus. Kindness flows from Jesus’ heart.

He identifies kindness as a fruit of the Spirit of Jesus (Galatians 5:22). I am to be kind and compassionate to others, forgiving others, just as in Christ God forgave me (Ephesians 4:32). Since I belong to God’s chosen people—chosen through Jesus—I am to dress myself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience (Colossians 3:12).

kindness10I can’t recall hearing of a church fight and subsequent split over kindness. I can’t recall friendships broken due to kindness. I am unaware of hurting or being hurt due to kindness.

Sounds to me like a doctrine of Jesus I should attempt to get right, don’t you think?

Once again I find that right Jesus makes right doctrine.

Be kind and Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Kindness as a Doctrine of Jesus.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

