Shades of Grayce


denise-cropped

 

I attended a class recently taught by Dianne Craft, MA CNHP. She runs a private consulting firm called Child Diagnostics, Inc.

 

children-766538__180Diane helps right-brained dominant children learn in our current world where most school curriculum is designed for the left-brain dominant. Rather than label children, medicate them and train a child to live in a box not designed for them, she helps a child set themselves free from labels through teaching to their learning abilities and educating parents on preparing a nutritious diet that aids in mind, body and soul development.

Dianne states several differences between the two brain spheres.

kuala-lumpur-398792__180

 

Left-Brain: Black &white, “my-way-or-the-highway”/one way to do all things, like closure, risk averse.

town-768474__180

 

 

 

Right-Brain: Colorful, many ways of doing things/like choices, closure does not bother them, risk takers.

 

Each characteristic above flows from a personal tailor-made design by God, our Creator.

baby-feet-402844__180

 

 

 

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. – Psalm 139:13

 

 

clock-70189__180I believe there are more qualified persons to teach me on the meaning of the Hebrew word “kilyah,” the word which describes our inner parts. Yet, what I glean from my understanding of the word is it physically includes the area of the kidneys, and internally it points to our emotional make-up – could we say our right-brain expressions? – as well as our ability to hold the reins in our lives – or could we say our left-brain governor?

Capture

The Lord knows his own, how he wired us, how we learn, our unique circumstances, what grieves us, how long it takes for us to lament and grow through those times, how we celebrate, what is going to come out of our mouths, and a way out of having stuck our foot into our mouths.

God’s gray areas, or let’s call it grayce, allows for the learning curves in life. As we learn, we become more firm and more real as C.S. Lewis described in his book “The Great Divorce.”

How I deal with the grays in my life have to do with how my heart is bent. Bent towards God and those he loves most, His Son and Holy Spirit, I become amazed that he would consider having me in his family at all. After all, I cannot match the person of Jesus, nor be as powerful and wise as the Holy Spirit. I am nothing compared to this magnificent God. Yet he loves all mankind. Should I be doing any less?

chess-140340__180

So instead of comparing my black & white view of the world to another’s gray – and often colorful way of being and doing things, maybe it’s best if I offer others the permission they need to live in their grays until they come to terms with God’s black & white. I am most like Christ when I offer grayce.

shard-587542__180

Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in the way of a brother or sister. – Romans 14:13

How am I offering more grayce to others today?

Just wondering.

Leave a Reply

