Living Anointment


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

But you have an anointing from the Holy One . . . the anointing you received from him remains in you . . . that anointing is real, not counterfeit (1 John 2:20).

garyguarujaIn Old Testament Scripture God uses His anointed ones to apply sacred oil to anoint sacrifices, His Tent of Meeting and its contents, priests, high priests, and kings.

By the time history reaches the writings from the Sixteen Prophets, God’s people seek neither His heart nor do they pursue obedience to His will. Thus, the prophets begin to speak of a time when God will anoint His Eternal King who will lead the people of God into a perfect kingdom.

The awaited King will rule a people whose hearts are surrendered to the King and to the Creator.

The New Testament gives this awaited king the name Messiah—the “Anointed One”.

anoint5Seventy times in the four Gospels and the Acts of the Apostles Jesus is identified directly or indirectly as Christ the Messiah.

As people across the New Testament world place their faith and trust in Jesus, the Letters written to churches change the imagery. Jesus is not only the anointed Messiah he is now God’s anointed eternal High Priest.

As High Priest, he in turns anoints all disciples to serve as his priests. His followers serve others as his heart, hands, and feet in the midst of a needy world.

Paul describes my anointing in these words: Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us ( 2 Corinthians 1:21).

anoint2Then Peter supplies my job description: You are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light (1 Peter 2:9).

While on earth I am anointed by the anointed one to serve.

I am to be in the business of being Jesus to all I meet. I am in the business of being delighted to know I am God’s special possession. I am in the business of inviting others to join me as sisters and brothers to enjoy the same state God gives me. Thus, I live my anointment.

But the news gets better. My anointment by the Holy will last beyond this reality. My anointment protects me from the second death.

Jesus revealed to John my job description in the next reality. My priesthood will continue.

anoint4He has made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve his God and Father—to him be glory and power for ever and ever! Amen . . . and they will reign on the earth . . . Blessed and holy are those who share in the first resurrection. The second death has no power over them, but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with him for a thousand years.

By living anointment in the here and now, Jesus will give me the honor to reign the earth with him in the next reality. I look forward to a perfect assignment on a perfect earth.

That is enough to make me want to live out my Holy anointment in this life, don’t you think?

It’s a joy to serve with you in the Priesthood of Believers.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Anointed as a Power Word.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

