You’ve Got Mail


denise-croppedEach morning I exercise. When the body gets moving, so does the mind.

My mind rambles over thoughts, ideas, memories, dreams and goals. It can veer into the nooks and crannies of failures, injustices and negativity. When my mind is working optimally, it’s no coincidence that I am thankful, encouraged, and God and other-focused.

Whatever the case, God knows.

list-820965__180

With each thought, I am writing letters, post-its or blog-posts to God.

He reads all of my mail.

And answers.

I believe God’s work in my soul is a two-step process.

He first works deeply in my innermost being interpreting my requests to the One Living God.

rose-697648__180The Bible tells me so.

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with sighs too deep for words. ­–Romans 8:26

Secondly, God responds with a returned wisdom that doesn’t always have a chapter and verse stamped on it. In fact, it may have a conglomeration of wisdom from his word and wise God-fearers rolled into one response.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives to all men generously and without reproaching, and it will be given him. –James 1:5

wisdom-92901__180I’m not perfect, which is why I need wisdom. I may not obey the wisdom to everyone’s expectation, but grace covers me while I learn. God knows my heart and the aim of my behavior. When I toss perfectionism out the door, am open to God’s unquestioned wisdom, he gives me more grace in the learning curve.

More grace received, is more grace available to give to others.

God always answers and equips me better than before my petition.

Have you ever been through a season of receiving “no”s, and “wait”s?

It’s okay.

yes-238376__180No” to me simply means, no for now, and “wait” means something better is coming.

Is it easy to take “no” and “wait” for an answer?

No.

But if God is at the other end, then I know I am tethered to Him, he has me in his hand and is watching over my soul for that better thing to come.

plan-707359__180Mine is to be prepared with a clear heart and mind, and to plan only as far as the Holy Spirit gives insight.

It may be better wisdom on a matter, deeper relationships or something I cannot even fathom.

Whatever the case, when I get mail from God, we talk about it.

I am more thankful today than ever for the blessings of life, and my earthly and spiritual families, but it is good to continually let God know how thankful I am.

Sometimes I forget.

But God is gracious. He doesn’t demand or demean.

He simply waits patiently on me, as I wait on him. Or should I say, I wait on God as he so patiently waits on me.

Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you; therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. –Isaiah 30:18

In the end, his aim is to remind me that when I open my mail, I will find his heart. A heart that beats for me and all those who search for him.

heart-159636__180

Amazing!

Leave a Reply

