God Breaks Into Night


GodReflection: God Breaks In Monday

You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness (1 Thessalonians 5:5).

garyguarujaI still hear the voice of my late professor, Dr. Neil Lightfoot. I am sure the Apostle John’s voice was identical.

With Dr. Lightfoot I studied the Gospel of John and his letters. I even did a semester of Greek readings with him in John’s writings. Even night1today, when I read from John’s record I automatically hear the voice of Dr. Lightfoot.

From my professor I learned that one of the themes of John’s Gospel is the contrast between day and night. The day was the work of Jesus the Son of God. The night symbolized the work of Satan the evil one.

Jesus came to break into the night of Satan.

In John’s Gospel Nicodemus comes in out of the night to see Jesus the Light. God provides day to do His work. A time will come when night arrives and there will be no more work to do. Those who rejected Jesus will enter the night of final destination.

night26John highlights the words of Jesus, “Are there not twelve hours of daylight? Anyone who walks in the daytime will not stumble, for they see by this world’s light. It is when a person walks at night that they stumble, for they have no light” (Jn. 11:9-10).

Then I read what could be considered the most sobering text in John’s Gospel. As soon as Judas had taken the bread, he went out. And it was night (Jn. 13:30). night11Judas had every opportunity to follow Jesus. However, his decision was to walk straight into the night of Satan.

Here is what I think.

The message of the entire Bible is the announcement that God breaks into the night of Satan. The Creator invites His children to walk with Jesus the Son of Light—the Son of Day.

night13By acceptance of the Creator’s invitation I move into an eternal dimension of light.

While on earth, I still walk through David’s “valley of shadows.” However, in the midst of pain, sickness, death, downturns, and disappointment, the light shines on my path.

Life begins to make sense when I see that God broke into Satan’s darkness to rescue me from his control.

So here I am attempting to submit my Adamic self to God’s light day after day while I live in a world where Satan’s darkness will eventually be captured.

Walking through David’s “valley of shadows” age caught up with me.

night8Although, still in the light I no longer have health to climb Mother Nature’s mountains and wade her crystal steams with fly rod in my hand and insect repellent in my pocket.

Because God broke into the night I can look with confidence to the next reality of a perfect body and a new earth. God will complete His work of night confinement.

On no day will its gates ever be shut, for there will be no night there (Revelation 21:25). There will be no more night. They will not need the light of a lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign for ever and ever (Revelation 22:5).

I suspect there will be an unbelievably beautiful mountain stream to explore since God broke into the night of Satan, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks Into Night.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Breaks In Monday, God Reflection by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

One thought on “God Breaks Into Night

Leave a Reply

