I Can Be Worthy is a Jesus’ Doctrine


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaThe Temple is far too common. Temple worship is all I’ve known since childhood.

Shortly after I learned to speak the syllables for no, mama, and daddy, I learned the words God, Father, Jesus, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Oh yes, I was also aware of the words Holy Ghost—what an unfortunate translation. I suppose his mission was to scare a little boy into being good.

Here I am in my sunset years having lived my entire life within the Holy that I take for granted.

I read from my common place Bible the scene from the Apostle John’s vision of the Worthy One.

Then I saw in the right hand of him who sat on the throne a scroll with writing on both sides and sealed with seven seals. And I saw a mighty angel proclaiming in a loud voice, “Who is worthy to break the seals and open the scroll?”  

worthy2But no one in heaven or on earth or under the earth could open the scroll or even look inside it. I wept and wept because no one was found who was worthy to open the scroll or look inside.

Then one of the elders said to me, “Do not weep! See, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has triumphed. He is able to open the scroll and its seven seals.”

Then I saw a Lamb, looking as if it had been slain, standing at the center of the throne . . . .

Jesus is the personification of the word worthy.

In Jesus, worthy becomes a synonym.

Jesus’ “Worthy Vita” includes perfection. No one walked the earth in human form prior to Jesus or since who can claim perfection–only Jesus.

Jesus is worthy because of his total and complete submission to the will of God. No man or woman can make such a claim—only the man Jesus.

worthy6Jesus is worthy because he placed death under his control. He beat death. He died and returned to live. The grave couldn’t hold him. Graves aren’t for the worthy.

The worthiness of Jesus is a foundation doctrine of his people—the church.

Here is where the story becomes relevant for me. Here is where the Holy “Aha” comes.

Through the death and resurrection of the worthy one; when I accept his gift he makes me worthy before God.

My vita doesn’t read like the vita of Jesus. Mine lists imperfection after imperfection. No worthiness there.

worthy4Then Jesus takes a large rubber stamp, saturates it from the pad soaked in his blood, and stamps WORTHY across my vita in large capital letters for God to see.

Together they desire that others see Jesus’ blood stamped across the story of my life.

However, the most amazing news is that all have worthy3access to the worthy stamp. Jesus stands ready to apply his seal anew into the pad of his blood and place the stamp WORTHY on any submissive heart from any nation in the world.

I stand approved before God through the worthiness of Jesus

Worthy is the Lamb Jesus who makes me worthy. That’s a rather powerful doctrine found only in Jesus, don’t you think?

I am ashamed when I pass over the worthy doctrine of Jesus with a yawn.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Worthy is Jesus’ Doctrine.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, It's Jesus Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

