I’m an Optimist


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaI don’t want to add to the population of “the cup is half empty” people.

Satan stays busy draining cups.

Perhaps my “Baby Boomer” wiring plays a role. Maybe my family of origin influenced me in ways that I am not aware. However, I like to think that my trust in Creator God is foundational to optimism.

Scripture doesn’t include the word “optimistic.” Power doesn’t originate in positive thinking. Power comes from Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

How then is it possible to consider the word “optimistic” as a power word to guide my walk?

optimist2Lines of half-empty cups parade before me.

Daily in my city, robbery, murder, destruction by fire, abuse, poverty, and every type of evil act that humankind can imagine passes as newsworthy.

Human nature being what it is, I suspect the only difference in my time and the time of Jesus and the early church is the population explosion. There are just more of us on earth to sin.

Once again, I ask myself how it is possible to consider the word optimistic as a power word to guide my walk.

I find the answer in an ancient sermon.

In the next reality, I want to meet the guy who preached the sermon known in the New Testament as Hebrews. Surely, its cadence kept the audience spell bound.

optimist1He reaches a crescendo as he begin chapter 11 and declares;Now  faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”

It is faith in Jesus, the promises of God, and the power of the Holy Spirit that makes my walk optimistic.

I never want to be oblivious to the wretch Satan provokes in me, in my neighborhood, my city, the nation, or the world.

At the same time, I trust God to see what I cannot. I trust the Creator of the universe to be in Holy control of the globe’s existence and of my care.

This reality allows the word “optimistic” to serve as a power word to guide my walk.

No, it doesn’t mean I receive Divine protection from harm—although, I suspect God’s optimist7protective hand can and often does play a role in my life.

It does mean I can live life with optimism knowing that the One who was born of God keeps [me] safe, and the evil one cannot harm [me] (1 John 5:18).

Rather than the activity of Satan, I choose to see the activity of the Spirit of God moving across the face of the earth.

In the midst of chaos, the Holy harvest continues as millions of people place their faith in Jesus and go to work toward transformation in his likeness.

optimist6His likeness reflected by his body is composed of disciples filling half-empty cups with kindness, love, and sustenance.

That is not only an optimistic image it is reality.

To be optimistic based upon the cross and the resurrection makes optimistic a worthy word of power, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Optimistic as a Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

One thought on “I’m an Optimist

  1. Dear Gary, I believe you have God-given gifts to think and to write what is pleasing to our Father. I love this post I just read about your being an Optimist, and the true foundation NOT being positive thinking, but rather being GOD, Our Father, and JESUS, His SON and the HOLY SPIRIT who inhabits us as children of God. Shame on us Christians for having all too many negative thoughts, when we know WHO is in charge and that HE DOES ALL THINGS WELL!! Love, Carol

    Like

Leave a Reply

