God Breaks In By Visions


GodReflection: God Breaks in Mondays

In those days the word of the Lord was rare; there were not many visions (1 Samuel 3:1)

garyguarujaGod does not break into history and the walk of His people on earth with frequency—or does He?

When I note the times in Scripture when God breaks into humankind’s earth walk, it is not as if His visits are often.

I read in Old Testament Scripture of God’s contact with Adam and Eve, Cain, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Joshua, Samuel, David, Solomon, and the prophets.

In New Testament Scripture, I see God breaking into the lives of Elizabeth, Mary, Joseph, John the Prophet, Jesus, Paul, Peter, and John the Apostle.

visions2My point is that God limited visible intervention in the lives of both New and Old Testament personalities and He often punctuated those appearances by decades and centuries of silence.

One of those times was with the boy Samuel. This is a favorite Old Testament story.

Hannah prayed to the Almighty to give her a son and in return promised to return him to God as a gift. Thus, we find the boy living and serving in the House of God.

To set the stage for God to break into the life of Samuel the manuscripts introduce the occasion with the following words:

The boy Samuel ministered before the Lord under Eli. In those days the word of the Lord was rare; there were not many visions (1 Samuel 3:1).

It took three calls of God to Samuel speaking the boy’s name for the wisdom of Eli the priest to recognize the voice Samuel heard was from God. The fourth time God called again to Samuel and hearing the voice of the Creator, Samuel listened as God painted before him a vision of the future.

Ok, here are my questions.

Does God still break into the lives of His people in the 21st century?  In addition—if He does—how frequent are His encounters?

Here is what I think.

vision6I like the Bill Hybels’ definition of vision. He calls vision a picture of the future that creates passion in us.

The gift of the Holy Spirit I received at baptism made it possible for Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, to live inside my own spirit.

Is it possible the more I allow them to control and lead my life, the more I will see as they see?

And, as I catch their vision for the potential they see in my life as an instrument in their hands, step by step I begin to live out the vision.

Powered by the Holy it is a vision lived with passion. With each step, I see the future unfold.

vision1Perhaps, with God’s act through Jesus on the cross, visions are no longer limited to miraculous breaks into history. Rather, visions are in abundance through Christ’s global and eternal church.

Is it possible the Holy calls to me from within my spirit to act and finds a deaf ear?

Might it be that I limit visions instead of God?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on God Breaks In By Visions.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

 

6 thoughts on “God Breaks In By Visions

    • Andy,

      Thanks for the tech help yesterday. Yes, we did it. Both posts completely downloaded. And the comment article is now on the page.
      Lefties make good techs … and good writers. I was enriched by your post this morning.

      Gary

      Like

  1. Thanks, Gary, for this insightful article on how God communicates His visions to His people today. May God give us eyes to see and ears to hear what He has to show us and say to us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

