Peace is Jesus’ Doctrine


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God (Matthew 5:9). . .be at peace with each other (Mark 9:50).

garyguarujaThe Docs placed me on a low salt diet.

Bingo, I have a new habit. I now read labels for the first time in my life. Sodium is now the key word on both food packaging and menus.

Jesus spoke of a salt that I need in abundance.

In the context of a rebuke to his disciple who stopped an outsider from doing good because he was not one of their inner circle, and in the context of a warning to disturbers who act as obstacles to others attempts at faith peace1growth, Jesus replies:

“Salt is good, but if it loses its saltiness, how can you make it salty again? Have salt among yourselves, and be at peace with each other (Mark 9:50).

peace3Like a dip in a salty ocean, I am to live in Jesus and feel the salt of peace in every pore of my skin—salty peace within my eyes, nose, mouth, and ears.

Peace is a doctrine of Jesus.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid (John 14:27). “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).

In a series of eight verses of John chapter 20, Jesus tells his disciple three times, Peace be with you!”

Right Jesus Makes Right Doctrine.

I notice a difference in Jesus’ doctrines and the items I often labeled as doctrine.

It is so much easier to create a checklist of one-step doctrines. I pray or I don’t pray. I observe a correct posture for pray or I keep my eyes open. I worship in a form determined by my church tribe or I fail to live up to right doctrine.

Jesus’ doctrines are different. Jesus’ doctrines run deep. They defies checklist format.

peace8I can’t quite seem to place a check mark by peace with a declaration that I’ve accomplished peace in my soul and peace with my fellow earthlings.

To align myself within the peace of Jesus is a direction of life not an arrived state.

When I allow doubt and discord to sprout within my inner life it time to turn again to Jesus for the salt that brings peace.  I’ve failed to allow the salt of Jesus’ peace to penetrate my life when I find myself in discord with fellow believers.

peace9I look to the time in the future when my inner lion will lay down with the Lamb and peace will be the norm.

Peace is Jesus. Peace is a doctrine of Jesus. If I am to grow into the likeness of Jesus—I must be a saltshaker of peace, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Peace as a Doctrine of Jesus.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

