Let’s Seek Unity at the Cross


A God Reflection on Cross-Church

This is one of seven posts I am bringing back to the light of day from a former series of exploration I titled Cross-Church. You can find more of these posts at GodReflection.org under the heading Gary’s Reflections.

garyguarujaToday, my GodReflection centers on unity that can flow from the cross.

The cross as viewed from the 21st century is so sanitary and so commercial I can hardly see through it back to a country hillside to witness its significance.

I am glad I never observed  crucifixion. I didn’t have the minimal desire to watch the movie “The Passion of the Christ.”

I am not as strong as the women who followed Jesus and stood witness to man’s most horrific historical murderous act of the innocent son of God on a torturous cross.

Costume jewelry will never catch the power that came together when God joined with man on the cross.

The cross was the act of all creation to make possible God’s restoration to me and my restoration to God. The cross is where the perfect man Jesus lifted my sin up to perfect God.

The cross is where Jesus died on his way to spend three days in hell so I would not have to spend one nanosecond there. The cross is where Jesus defeated forever the power of the tomb so that I might live forever in a sinless world.

Every Christian who has ever lived, all Christians of the present, and all Christians of the future unite at the cross on this piece of common ground.

There is no greater symbol of unity than the cross. The cross set the gold standard.

After months reflecting on the absence of unity exhibited in the presence of Christ’s church on earth, I want to move forward seeking unity flowing from the cross.

Every reason I have ever held for withholding my fellowship from a fellow believer pales in light of the cost paid by the Godhead on a hillside called Calvary to unite all things in Jesus.

Moving forward, surely the cross is solid ground on which to stand as I offer and receive Christian fellowship.

The cross is my only hope to live in unity with all children of God.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Cross-Church.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

 

Leave a Reply

