Love is Jesus’ Doctrine


GodReflection: It’s Jesus Friday

garyguarujaI’ve expressed recognition in earlier reflections of my arrival at a point in life when I see the need to examine at a deeper level what I believe about Jesus as he relates to my walk on earth and to the next reality after death.

In an attempt to closer align my belief system with the Holy, I’ve come to see Jesus as the mirror that reflects the purposes of God.

Therefore, my weekly Friday post is an effort to sharpen my grasp on Jesus’ reflection. Graciously, Jesus guards me under the shade of the cross even when my theology is misguided.

I’m coming to see that right Jesus makes right doctrine. False doctrine is getting Jesus wrong.

Thus, on Fridays throughout the next few weeks I want to look at divine standards that flow from Jesus.

love5I’m currently at a place in my understanding where I see Jesus of the Gospels as the center of the Bible.

I have no choice but to take Jesus at face value when he answers a Jewish teachers’ question as to the most important commands of the entire Scripture:

“The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:29-31

It sounds to me like Jesus places love as the cornerstone of all doctrine. Love sums up the cross. From Jesus’ doctrine of love flows every action, command, example, and promise of his life.

love9If I can get this one doctrine right, I get God right.

From the doctrine of love flows Jesus’ doctrines on forgiveness, unity, peace, kindness, submission, trust, worship, and church, just to highlight a few.

The relevance of Paul’s commands to two of his young protégé teachers becomes apparent when I look at doctrine as originating from Jesus.

To Timothy he writes, Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers. And, to Titus he urges, You, however, must teach what is appropriate to sound doctrine.

I find when I look to Jesus that appropriate sound doctrine is: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: Love your neighbor as yourself.

love6It is within the doctrine of love as defined by Jesus words and actions that I am to measure life, my body of doctrine, my teaching, and my relation to God.

Sounds to me like it is rather sound doctrine don’t you think?

It’s Jesus.

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Love as Jesus’ Doctrine.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

Leave a Reply

