Compel Power


GodReflection: Power Word Wednesday

garyguarujaCompel is not an easy word to define.

I think about the ways I hear the word used. Compel seems tied to an outside—and often irresistible—force. My parents and the school board compelled my attendance in school.

University was different. The motivation and the irresistible force to attend came from within. For reasons I probably don’t understand there was a drive within me I couldn’t ignore. Yet, I was compelled to attend.

When Paul encountered Jesus on a dirt road surrounded by God’s spotlight beam, the incident shook him to his inner core. His temporary condition as a blind man and the voice of Jesus still in the memory of his ears provided ample time for decision-making. The experience was overwhelming.

He felt compelled.

His inner being submitted to Divine request. He willingly went into baptismal waters led by the hand of Ananias “to wash away his sin.”

compel1Jesus’ love compelled Paul.

His love still compels.

His draw is beyond my understanding. There are times it goes beyond rational explanation.

As I look back over my shoulder, I recognize compel as a power word that brought me to this time and this place in life.

Jesus tells the story of God’s Celestial Banquet in Luke 14.

After the religious reject God’s invitation the instructions are to “Go out quickly into the streets and alleys of the town and bring in the poor, the crippled, the blind, and the lame.”

With table space yet available the final call was to Go out to the roads and country lanes and compel them to come in, so that my house will be full.”

The emphasis is on God’s welcome and the benefits are the encounter. The invitation was to be so clear that’s its magnetic field would draw famished people to feast with the Master.

They were compelled to come.

I remember three uses of the word by Paul. When the Jews gave no hope of a just trial for the apostle, he reports, I was compelled to make an appeal to Caesar. I certainly did not intend to bring any charge against my own people (Acts 28:19).

When he writes to the Corinthian church he affirms, For when I preach the gospel, I cannot boast, since I am compelled to preach. Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel!

compel4On another occasion, he tells the same church, for Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.

Here is what I think.

I think Paul just defined the power word “compel” in the walk of a disciple. It radiates from Christ’s love. It originates from conviction of Jesus’ death, burial, resurrection, and forgiveness.

Compel is powered by grace.

I give a welcome nod and open arms to compel as a power word to guide my walk.

It’s a rather powerful word, don’t you think?

Stay tuned.

Dr. Gary J. Sorrells – A GodReflection on Compel as a Word of Power.

Gary@Godreflection.org     www.MakeYourVisionGoViral.com

This entry was posted in God Reflection, Power Words by Dr. Gary Sorrells. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Gary Sorrells

From birth to death, I am God-wired. My body is not as energized as in earlier times, yet as my soul runs toward the finish line it carries a dream. I want to give glory to God by writing. Only now is the timing right to lean hard into this gift from God. For the first time in life, the totality of my God walk with family, the church, academic training, work experience, life scars, and accrued wisdom, provides value to share through the written word. It is as if all of the trails of life are crossing at this point. My formal education includes the B.A., M.A. and the Doctor of Ministry degrees in Bible from Abilene Christian University. Between 1980 and 2011, I worked with the Non-Profit entity, Great Cities Missions. I currently serve as Director Emeritus and as a member of the Board of Trustees. -Gary J Sorrells Gary@GodReflection.org

Leave a Reply

